We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“What can I say; the best ceviche, seafood, and pisco sour in Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mar

La Mar
Ranked #15 of 4,084 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Soups, South American, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vitacura
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What can I say; the best ceviche, seafood, and pisco sour in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were walking up costanera and found this restaurant by luck and accident. Really the best ceviche we have ever had, and the piscos were perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    298
    94
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian Seafood - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of my all-time fave´s in Santiago. I´ve never had a bad meal here - each dish tastes a little like heaven. (if you like seafood and flavor) Best pisco sours too. and the service is kind, knowledgeable and attentive. highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraGringa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What's happen?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great entrees (mix de cerviche, causas y otras). My favorite for that great Peruvian entrance and drink pisco.sour (real one)
But the food was good in the past (last year) lose the quality and the flavor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMVRiodeJaneiro_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great new Peruvian food in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of the restaurant is about to change to just up the road.

That said, the food is brilliant. Starting with a Peruvian Pisco Sour accompanied by vegetable chips and fried corn, then a cebiche and perhaps a fish dish or fried rice (the Peruvian / Chinese way). The atmosphere is modern Peruvian, a mix of more traditional Peruvian dishes with a modern twist. For those who know Peru, the food is spectacular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ososur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only ceviches, any other thing terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ordered different ceviches as a start. Excellent. After that we had fish: awfully prepared, a disater. Three different wines we asked for (Sauvignon Blanc) that were on the list, they did not have. Never going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing