We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say; the best ceviche, seafood, and pisco sour in Santiago”
Review of La Mar

La Mar
Ranked #21 of 4,642 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vitacura
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What can I say; the best ceviche, seafood, and pisco sour in Santiago”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were walking up costanera and found this restaurant by luck and accident. Really the best ceviche we have ever had, and the piscos were perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    381
    127
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian Seafood - great service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of my all-time fave´s in Santiago. I´ve never had a bad meal here - each dish tastes a little like heaven. (if you like seafood and flavor) Best pisco sours too. and the service is kind, knowledgeable and attentive. highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraGringa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What's happen?”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great entrees (mix de cerviche, causas y otras). My favorite for that great Peruvian entrance and drink pisco.sour (real one)
But the food was good in the past (last year) lose the quality and the flavor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMVRiodeJaneiro_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great new Peruvian food in Santiago”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of the restaurant is about to change to just up the road.

That said, the food is brilliant. Starting with a Peruvian Pisco Sour accompanied by vegetable chips and fried corn, then a cebiche and perhaps a fish dish or fried rice (the Peruvian / Chinese way). The atmosphere is modern Peruvian, a mix of more traditional Peruvian dishes with a modern twist. For those who know Peru, the food is spectacular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ososur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only ceviches, any other thing terrible”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ordered different ceviches as a start. Excellent. After that we had fish: awfully prepared, a disater. Three different wines we asked for (Sauvignon Blanc) that were on the list, they did not have. Never going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing