We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, not amazing”
Review of La Mar

La Mar
Ranked #26 of 4,573 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vitacura
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good, not amazing”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

liked the place, the whole ambience...the food is really good but lacks of those things that owner manager places have. For a franchise is amazing, but not when paying like an expensive restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sergio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    378
    123
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Peruvian Fusion.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I visited the place several times for lunch.
The mix chevice is very tasty and give an overview of different peruvian sauces. The portion is large for me, that when the tasty main dish came I had a hard time to eat even half of it. Service was very friendly. Would have been nice if it open a bit earlier for lunch (13.00).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank EZCMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best Peruvian/fusion food in Santiago nowadays”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great food. Great atmosphere. Modern, and a bit more relaxed than most good restaurants in Santiago.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank viajerodebuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Spectacular trendy Peruvian fusion restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I love La Mar! I've visited three times, for a romantic dinner, with guests visiting Santiago and for a business dinner. Each time the food has been fabulous, with a really cool/fun ambience, and a great drink/wine list. I love the basil risotto, taster selection of causa limon and tabla de ceviche... also, ask the waiter for the whole fish (not on menu), which is a crispy delicious main dish. Make sure you make a reservation a few days in advance... fortunately the demand is nothing like the La Mar in New York where reservations are required 2-3 weeks in advance to get a table! If you are looking for a good restaurant for a date or dinner with friends, this is an excellent choice!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice food!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I enjoyed a lot this restaurant. The place is very beautiful and the food is exellent! I recommend it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing