We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local lunch”
Review of Domino

Domino
Ranked #58 of 4,617 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Centro Histórico
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great local lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a good place to get the local flavor for lunch. We were not able to get a table, but ate standing at the count, which was a lot of fun and a good place to people watch. The waiter was very helpful, the menus are easy to read. The best way to explain the sandwich is a Chilean cheese steak....very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaR5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    357
    117
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb! ”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Walked in off the street upon reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor. So glad we did. Place was full of business men on lunch breaks, we were seated at the counter, pointed out what we wanted (no Spanish, but no problem) and had the most delicious hot dog I've ever tasted! So good we went back the next day!

Helpful?
Thank Fletchbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is classic Chilean style sandwiches. I had the bbq with Steak and cheese. It was so great but the portions are huge. They offer the hot dog with the avocado and tomato as well. Good stuff! Don't miss out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
573 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive hot dogs”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Dominos are all over the city. We ate at one near the Tobalaba metro stop and sat outdoors. Dominos serves "completos," or hot dogs with different toppings one wouldn't normally consider. I had the special that consisted of two Alemenes. They came with mayo, fresh diced tomatoes, and sauerkraut. The special also came with a fruit smoothy. I had raspberry. My wife had the Dinamico with relish, onion, avocado, diced tomatoes, and mayo. Dinner with the tip was about 11,000 pesos.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hot dogs in Chile”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I see a lot of reviews, even from Chileans, implying that their experience in this "restaurant" was not the best. It's fair to say a couple of things: Domino is a traditional place created by locals, for locals. It's not a tourist trap. You sit down (if you can), you say what you want and voila. Don't complain about the "service", it's supposed to be that way. If you don't know what to ask, go for the "vienesa dinámica" (dynamic vienna). One of the best they have. Look at the menu, anyway. They have a lot of options. If you're not Chilean, probably everything will sound a little odd at the menu, but you need to have trust and open your mind. Want something to drink? Ask for a natural juice, or a coke, whatever. Try to do it in Spanish; people serving may not understand other languages. You ask for it and they'll put it in front of you in less than 2 minutes. No talking, no "of course, sir, right away". Just the food. Probably you will ask for the dinamica and they will shout "DINAMICA" so the cook may know what you want. Terrific. They will give you a piece of paper with something written on it; keep it. Ask for a fork and knife ("servicio") if you can't handle the hot dog (you will most likely end up covered in sauce if you just use your hands). Eat, drink, ask for another if you want. Take the paper and go to the till. Pay. Get out, follow your path and keep doing what you were doing... but a little bit happier. Avoid lunch hour, it's gonna be packed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domino also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Domino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing