We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable hostel”
Review of Ecohostel Chile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecohostel Chile
Ranked #88 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent some days in ecohostel during my stay in Chile. Hostel is in a safe location, within walkable distance from metro station and heart of the city. Best thing in this hostel for me is probably the beds in dorm..they are really comfortable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rauno E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 144 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in a private room next to the barbeque area (room number 8). The room was pretty standard, clean and quite large. We had to put the sheets on the beds ourselves and pay to have a towel. We didn't mind this but it was just a bit strange. The bathrooms are all shared and are perfectly good. There was hot water and enough showers and sinks to go around.
We were however disappointed with the service we received from the owner of the hostel. Being on the ground floor next to the barbeque area meant that when the hostel held a barbeque it was very noisy and the smoke drifted into our room. We had to keep the window closed because of this and it made the room extremely hot. The following night we told the owner that the noise didn't stop until 3am in the morning, he apologised. We asked for a fan but the owner refused and offered no solution, we knew for a fact that some guests had two fans in their rooms but he wasn't going to do anything about it. We felt that he was actually quite rude and unhelpful.
The hostel is about 15 to 20 mins walk from most tourist sites but 30 mins walk to the Plaza de Armas. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hostel there are other places that are more friendly and in a better location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent a week here over Christmas 2012 in the 8 bed dorm. Not only was the size of the room impressive but the bunk beds themselves must have been at least Queen size! Big and sturdy, not the normal rickety beds you get elsewhere. The room was complete with big, secure wooden lockers, large enough easily for a 60 litre rucksack. The staff was friendly and easy to talk to, quick to give local advice and help with any issues. The hostel itself was clean, the breakfast was good, a cut above most others in South America and the Christmas Eve asado experience was amazing! Apparently the asado is a weekly thing, in which case: get involved!
With two outside spaces, there was plenty of room to lounge around should you wish.
The only drawbacks I could see was that there was no separate TV room, just a TV area in the hallway and Wi-Fi was only available close to reception. Also the location in a safe, quiet area of Santiago may be problematic for some, not for us as the metro, and the fashionable areas of Lastarria and Bellavista were only a walk away for the fit amongst us!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night. The price for a 6 bed dorm was good but the room was incredibly cramped. I think the hostel were a but greedy in shoving 6 beds into what should have been a 4 bed room.

Breakfast was included and was one of the best we've had in south America in terms of choice. Cereals, cake, fruits, juice, tea coffee etc.

Staff were friendly enough but seemed to think they were supremely cool because they lived in Santiago. I personally didn't think much if the city. This is a good place to stay though.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had to make my bed: put the blanket sheets and pillowcases. Had to pay for a towel and citymap for the first time this journey (travelling for two months now). And had to pay 21000 pesos for a room excl towels! Even on schoolcamp you get better service. Far away from all the highlights and metrostations. Breakfast was ok, beds Nice. Only two showers on the upper floor, for around 10 rooms incl dorms. No light on one bathroom. Ow yeah, ofcourse you have to wash your own plates after breakfast...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just to let other people know that I spent a few great days in Ecohostel Santiago a wish to recommend it to fellow travelers. The hostel is well located in the centre of Santiago, prices are ok and the people working there very professional and always at hand for any question/problem you may have. Great value for money all in all!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas clementz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ecohostel is in a quieter neighborhood, an easy (maybe 10-15 minute) walk to lots of Santiago and close to the subway for the rest. Great value, breakfast was pretty good, the kitchen is VERY well stocked, and it attracts a fun, low key, respectful hostel crowd. Staff was very friendly and overall it was great in terms of cleanliness, helpfulness, and comfort for the price.

Room Tip: The privates upstairs are great, the front room even has a balcony. The dorm downstairs is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Chile Lindo Hostel
#29 of 507 in Santiago
252 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#16 of 507 in Santiago
551 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#42 of 507 in Santiago
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#31 of 507 in Santiago
284 reviews
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#41 of 507 in Santiago
231 reviews
Atacama Hostel
#93 of 507 in Santiago
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohostel Chile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Chile

Address: General Jofre 349 B, Santiago 8330148, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $13 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ecohostel Chile 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecohostel Chile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing