We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in Santiago”
Review of Ecohostel Chile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecohostel Chile
Ranked #92 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We moved here from another hostel in Santiago which is rated higher but this place was much better in terms of facilities, vibe, comfort and value for money.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and warm, the kitchen and bathroom facilities were good and well equipped.
We enjoyed the breakfast and the hostels attempts to recycle and be generally eco conscious were well thought out and appreciated.
We took a hiking/snowshoeing tour with Enzo (the hostels in house guide) which was as excellent as the hostel itself.
We cannot recommend staying in the lovely place enough.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having spent a year in South America and stayed in around 70 hostels, this one was in my top 5. The beds are large and comfortable; the facilities are extremely clean; there are two lounges, one with music and ambience, the other quiet; the kitchen and internet are both very good. The music shuts off at 11pm on the dot so it's an excellent place to get a good night's sleep. The stream of backpackers coming through tend to be friendly and sociable, at the same time it's not a "party" hostel; there is a good mix of ages and nationalities and a mellow vibe to the place overall. The hostel is reasonably well located; it's about a 7 minute walk to the nearest subway station and a pleasant 15 minute walk past parks and through pedestrian thoroughfares to the Plaza de Armas. There are two supermarkets within a 5 minute walk. However, the best feature of this hostel is the staff; they are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. For instance, one time I wanted to go skiing, so they wrote out for me a comprehensive page of local ski information; transport, hire, times, places, costs, web references, etc. This was a typical experience; another time I wanted to buy a picture book, so they told how to get to the best picture book shop in Santiago, plus advised me on other shops and sites to visit in the area. Another night the staff put on a Chilean BBQ (asado) and this was fantastic too, really sociable and a terrific experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim6140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed just one night in the Eco Hostel in early July when the weather was very cold. We were part of a group of 12 and we arrived late due to problems with the weather and the bus journey. There was only one toilet on the first floor for us: a couple more on the lower floor but only accessible via a small outside staircase. The showers on the first floor were ok for one person at a time only. There was one small heater on the landing but it was not switched on. Our room was extremely cold and noisy from the traffic. On the plus side the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Finally a hostel who keeps her promises fully equipped kitchen, working wifi, clean and spacy rooms, warm water and flushing toilets. The Ecohostel is central located so you can reach most interesting sites of downtown by foot or bus. The staff is very helpfull, friendly and giving you a feeling of being welcome. The patio is a perfect place to have dinner or meet people from all over the world. If you want to relax, read or watch tv there are other spaces in side the hostel. The eco part is a bit basic recycling carbage but at least a good start. We had a really nice and good time t the Ecohostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Eco Hostel is a pretty good hostel. Rooms are spacious and the price is quite reasonable for Chile. As far as I could tell eco hostel just means that they recycle things which is good but coming from Europe you´d expect an ecohostel to have solar panels etc but there wasn´t much evidence fo this. The hostel is quite well run and we had a good welcome and tour round the hostel when we arrived. It was good on the whole but could do with a good clean and more places to hang out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca and Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is far from the most welcoming hostel I've stayed in. On arrival we were talked through things to do in Santiago and the hostel facilities which was fine but done at break kneck speed as if the guy was not interested if we were there or not. Also the hostel is incredibly fussy with signs all over the place telling you what you can and cannot do. However, on our second night the sign informing us to be quiet after 11pm became complete irrelevant with drunk staff members tending to a BB, which they didn't bother to tell us about. As our room was above the social area there was little chance for a good night's sleep.

Our double room was comfortable but lacked storage so for our stay we were tripping over our stuff. Also the kitchen is cramped so only one person can do anything at one time.

As for the eco claims, this hostel is barely any different to any other we have visited in South America. Lights are on all the time as is the computer and tv. Far more basic hostels have invested in light sensors at the least.

Overall this is an okay hosteute itch a decent breakfast but I think there are better and less fussy ones in Santiago.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oci21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We started our trip in South America in this hostel, and it was a very good choice!
The hostel is in an old house with high ceilings and nicely decorated.
Location: It is only 15min. walk to the metro and to supermarkets, but restaurants are so cheap in Santiago, that you might skip buying your own food, as the quality of the supermarkets in Santiago was not top.
Internet: The hostel has wifi, but we had to use it at the lounge area on the first floor.
Breakfast is basic, but very good with fruit, which is a plus in South America (we have learned after 2 months travelling) and the staff always keeps the breakfast buffet table full.
Room: High ceilings, a closet, two fans, good sleep quality!
Shared bathroom: one on the first floor is really lovely, the other ones are less, but at least they have enough bathrooms.
The patios are a plus, the place is very light, but the windows have wooden covers that protect from the light.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Chile Lindo Hostel
#30 of 507 in Santiago
252 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 507 in Santiago
551 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#42 of 507 in Santiago
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#32 of 507 in Santiago
284 reviews
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#41 of 507 in Santiago
231 reviews
Atacama Hostel
#90 of 507 in Santiago
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohostel Chile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Chile

Address: General Jofre 349 B, Santiago 8330148, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $13 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ecohostel Chile 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ecohostel Chile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing