We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa Roja Hostel
Ranked #13 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is the worst I have stayed at. Bathrooms are never cleaned. I had stuff stolen. It is noisy, unpleasant, and disgusting. If you are 20 and want to party like a rock star, this is your place, just don't have anything of value with you. The streets on the nice side of town are a better place to sleep than this dump.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny B, Owner at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

My dear chilean friend, I do not know how you pass the filters, but this is one of the reasons why we do not accept chileans, we are always root and unpollite, pus that we are never satisfied.
rememebr youa re paying 8.000 daily and nobody compare to us in service for this value. Swimming pool, bar, palms and a big green yard.
For more quiet options remeber friends that you aslo have our sister The Princesa Insolente Hostel that is much more boutique and that also does not allows improper chileans.

Thanks and hope you find a good hostel for your needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 542 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here for one week in a double private room. The room was very spacious and clean. The hostel has great big lounging areas and is in a beautiful building. The showers are not great. The front desk staff are sometimes helpful, at time they are not. The worst thing about this hostel is the parties out by the pool area every night. After a long flight or long day of trekking, you want a good night sleep, but you wont get it here. Breakfast is better than any other hostel in Chile and a bus tour company is located in the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hostel provides a beautiful breakfast, comfortable beds, has a gorgeous pool and bar area, plenty of common areas and loads of pamphlet information for travellers. Largely it is a great hostel however I could only give it three stars for a few reasons. Most of the staff were pretty cold and not forthcoming with information and as new arrivals we really needed to be able to ask questions. The bar, although great at times, created a lot of noise and parties went until 3am every night for the week we were there - not great for recovering from jetlag. A great hostel for a party weekend in Santiago. Probably best to stay elsewhere if you want sleep though!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at LCR in a double room w/ private bath last December, and we will never stay here again. If you're interested in partying and meeting people, this could be a great place at a decent price, but if you want to get some sleep before you're next adventure, look elsewhere.

PROS:
-friendly enough staff
-clean room, though bare
-hearty and filling breakfast (included for private rooms)
-not too far from downtown center

CONS:
-noise: the floorboards (old house without enough rugs)
-noise: the walls were paper thin (again, old house)
-windows: only window in the room was above the door; if you closed it, it got stuffy in the room; if you opened it, you were subjected to even more direct noise
-noise: there was music playing and people singing until ~3am, and people were still out in the halls talking even later than that.

Truly the noise was almost unbearable, and I finally fell asleep at 3 or 4am out of exhaustion. My boyfriend got zero sleep.

Final CON: We asked the front desk the night before to order a taxi to the airport for us the following morning at 8:20AM. When it finally showed up 25 minutes late (!), it wasn't a regular taxi - just some woman with a scrappy car that had some agreement with the hostel to get customers.The front desk attendant seemed completely unconcerned about it, so I have a feeling it happens often.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jerend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny B, Owner at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi thanks for you bad comment.
For all our friends, remember that if you like more quiet and peacefull spots, we have our other hostel next to LCR, The Princesa Insolente Hostel.
Any way, remember the spirit of hostels, for other spirits there is plenty of 3 and 4 star hotles arround that are very far from pour loud high quality hostel.

Good journey buddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Awesome little gem in Santiago. Just a 5min walk away from the neareast metro station, 20min drive from the airport (which if you take a normal cab should cost about 12000 pesos). the pool s awesome and the facilities are clean!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here about a year ago and was there for Christmas, the staff were super friendly and made every one feel at home had great advice if you needed anything.

Beds were what you would expect in a dorm and it wasn't too expensive in the scheme of things and was pretty central to most things downtown.

give her a shot i'd recommend the place for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam222212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Hospitality 100%, beautiful rare old private rooms, cheap, great bar in and out-doors, the pool area is magnificent, you even get a in-pool bar. Breakfast is good and cheap. You can choose from a variety of different combinations for a reasonable price. Fast internet throughout the whole place, and is huge!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olbaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#14 of 536 in Santiago
570 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 536 in Santiago
1,093 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 536 in Santiago
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Happy House Hostel
#6 of 536 in Santiago
781 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 536 in Santiago
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Roja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Roja Hostel

Address: Agustinas 2113 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340463, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 536 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $12 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Roja Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barrio Brasil and a few steps from the subway, La Casa Roja hostel invites you to enjoy our swimming pool, big gardens and terraces, and more than 1.400 Square meters for relaxing and having fun. Anyway, at front desk we have always nice people willing to make your experience in Santiago and Chile sweeter!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your La Casa Roja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Roja Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing