We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa Roja Hostel
Ranked #15 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location was quite good, close to metro, a supermarket and quite a few bars and restraunts. The area felt less touristy than Bella vista which was nice. The hostel itself is OK. It was very noisy, as in you hear EVERYTHING. A lot of work went into renovating the building although it doesn't appear to have been maintained, floor boards worn, peeling paint etc. Our double room had no outside window- only onto walkways, which people were always walking past and looking in, so not very private. The bathrooms were OK, a lot of seating areas, and nice dining area. Kitchen was bearable and we did cook in once. Breakfast was very good, cooked eggs, toast, fruiut sale and tea.
The bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny B, Owner at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Hi Gamlondon, thanks for your review and I hope you can come back again under this new cycle with new owners. We come full of energies , positive thinking and good vibes to improve every day and make this the best hostel in CHile together with our other TPI Hostels arround Chile.
I think you were on room 17, well, we already change that matress and many other news things also.
Good luck buddy and keep travelling

Juane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

La Casa Roja is a converted old mansion and, judging by the photos on the wall, an immense amount of work went into bringing this 'old girl' back to life. The owners should be commended for their efforts and their vision.

However, because of the building's age, it is rather draughty and cold in the winter. Our room (a double with shared bathroom) had no natural sunlight and two unsealed doors joining it with the outside, which let the cold air seep in. On our first night, the receptionist brought in a heater but, to our surprise, he said that he would return in 30 minutes to retrieve it and take it to another room.

Breakfast is a real treat and above average compared to other hostels we have been to (freshly cooked eggs, fruit salad, hot toast, juice and real coffee with milk). However, we sometimes had to wait up to 30 minutes for it (even on mornings when we seemed to be the only guests around).

My husband enjoyed the cricket practice net was and this was a nice way to meet people. The BBQ night was nice and good value.

The vibe of the hostel sometimes felt a bit strange, with it at times seeming that every other "guest" was in fact a staff member.

The location is interesting, in a up-and-coming area of the city with a nice plaza and restaurants. The hostel is within walking distance of two supermarkets and both the red and green metro lines. It's close to the excellent Museum of Memory but it really is quite a long walk to trendy Bella Vista and at times it felt like we were on the "wrong side" of the Autopista.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michdgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hostel is an absolutely gorgeous converted mansion in a great location, Barrio Brasil, with the Plaza de Armas and neighborhoods such as Lastarria and Bella Vista in walking distance. There is a good, social atmosphere between both the guests and the staff and there are plenty of common areas for socializing. Unfortunately when I stayed here it was in the low season, so the pool and bar weren't in use, but I can imagine it would be a great, social place in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip. Really nice rooms, we had a private double and it was huge. Staff were ok, but apparently all service in Santiago is bad so thats probably the reason. Very sociable for meeting other travelers, BBQ on our first night and a pub crawl on our second. Near to supermarkets and the subway and great walking tour close by. All in all a great hostel to finish off our south America trip

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisagood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

nice change for your hostel to have high decorated ceilings and chandeleers! the kitchen was great so big and lots of utensils although our food was stolen from the fridge several times but i guess there is nothing the hostel can do about that
the pool area is beautiful and relaxing after a day in the city
the hostel weirdly seemed to be filled with children we were near the tv room and there were always kids watching it on full blast , had to ask them to turn it down on numerous occasions
the beds were thin, and it was about a 15/20 minute walk to the centre of town but we enjoyed the walking
all in all amazing value for money and would reccomend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and loved it. The bar and common areas are good for parties and hanging out. Its based in a decent part of town, 6 minutes from the metro, nearby supermarkets and restaurants. All the staff are very helpful and kind. It was quite cold at night, but they have heaters in the communal areas and you get 2 blankets which is enough (although I'm sure you can ask for an extra one). The kitchen is big and has most things you need. I would recommend this place as you can party and meet people, but you can still chill out and not be disturbed too much.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is a huge with many dorms but it has a personal feel with a nice garden, TV room, kitchen, outside area and pool and bar. Its also a lot of fun - I stayed here far longer than I anticipated and had a lot of beers but being as the parties goes on in the bar and the garden the rooms themselves are very quiet. Its also very quite located by Ave Brasil and is near many metro stations, including Los Heroes where the airport bus drops you off.

The owner is really nice, for instance one evening when everyone was on their computers in the front area he said if you go to the bar in the next 5 minutes he'll buy us drinks... and he bought me another later - not many hostel owners would do that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedouin-londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#14 of 537 in Santiago
570 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 537 in Santiago
1,095 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Happy House Hostel
#6 of 537 in Santiago
784 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 537 in Santiago
275 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 537 in Santiago
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Roja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Roja Hostel

Address: Agustinas 2113 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340463, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 537 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Roja Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barrio Brasil and a few steps from the subway, La Casa Roja hostel invites you to enjoy our swimming pool, big gardens and terraces, and more than 1.400 Square meters for relaxing and having fun. Anyway, at front desk we have always nice people willing to make your experience in Santiago and Chile sweeter!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your La Casa Roja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Roja Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing