We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party or relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa Roja Hostel
Ranked #12 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party or relax”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great hostel. Clean rooms, great value and close to transport. The kitchen is huge and clean. The staff were incredibly helpful. There is a pool and pool side bar with barbecue available. There is a lot of fun to be had here but also areas where it possible to just relax. One of the things I found was the mix of people, not just overseas travelers, but Chileans and other South American travelers who were a great source of info. A party atmosphere mixed with a relaxed feel to it.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room or dorm just ask the staff. Second floor rooms have less ppeople moving abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    156
    78
    21
    28
See reviews for
19
100
185
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in an absolutely beautiful building a walk from central Santiago. It is near a place with a few restaurants and cafes and the trains station but if a fair walk for the city.

The staff didn't seem terribly friendly or helpful. They were often swamped, with people checking in and out at all hours and I didn't feel able to ask for advice.

It's certainly a bit of a party hostel, but not hugely friendly and welcoming. You mightn't get much sleep in this place.

Mixed feelings about the place but I don't think I'd return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NastassjaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hostel was converted from an old mansion into a pretty large hostel.

I stayed in an 8-person dorm (4 2-tiered bunk beds). There was plenty of space in each room, and the bedding and sheets were all pretty decent.

The common areas are pretty large. The kitchen is huge, but I don't remember seeing many condiments. Internet is limited to the front lounge close to the front office. The place also comes with its own travel agency.

Every night, you can head out towards the back for a few drinks. The shack out back also has a nice dartboard and a fuzzball table. There's also what appeared to be a nice outdoor pool, but it was covered while I was there (during the winter in July/August).

The clientele are quite friendly, as well as the staff. I recall meeting several really friendly Australian staff members. I actually got to play my first game of Australian Rules Football with some of them (it was for an outdoor bbq Fundraiser for a new Chilean Aussie Rules Football team; the Australian Ambassador to Chile attended the event).

There's definitely a party atmosphere. I would say that overall, it was a nice place to stay, and I definitely felt welcome here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

floorboards are creeky but in reality this doesnt make a difference at all. really nice pool and bar area. huge kitchen to make your own meals and really yummy BBQ on friday night. really nice spacious rooms and friendly staff. we ended up staying there for a week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place has a lot going for it with a few draw backs.

The pool is wonderful, the rooms comfortable and the huge kitchen is great. It's also located in a wonderful neighbourhood. At night the atmosphere is good if you enjoy a few drinks and loud music.

The draw backs include poor staff (they just didn't seem enthusiastic or interested about helping you when you had questions), the thumping bass every night and the weird rule of taking your sheets off your bed and bringing them to the reception before you leave.

I'd recommend this place if you enjoy sitting by the pool during the day and enjoy partying at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After backpacking in Patagonia for 6 weeks this location was exactly what I needed - except for the continuous noise (as others have acknowledged). The workers are very helpful, willing to arrange cab service, and do laundry, etc. However the hostel itself seems to attract a bit of a partying crowd, which isn't necessarily bad, but was a bit too much over the course of a few days. Definitely a beautiful place to stay though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hostel is SO noisy, and there are so many people walking past the rooms at all hours of the night its impossible to get any sleep. Its a beautiful building and clean, but dont expect a moments peace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatiana g, Owner at La Casa Roja Hostel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Kelly,
from November to April our hostel has a very high occupancy, while our passengers ranging from 20 to 70 years old, most enjoys having fun. You're right if you want to sleep through the night without live with the other guests may not be the best place to stay.
Tatiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 488 in Santiago
709 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 488 in Santiago
1,004 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#26 of 488 in Santiago
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#17 of 488 in Santiago
543 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#11 of 488 in Santiago
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Roja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Roja Hostel

Property: La Casa Roja Hostel
Address: Agustinas 2113 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340463, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Roja Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barrio Brasil and a few steps from the subway, La Casa Roja hostel invites you to enjoy our swimming pool, big gardens and terraces, and more than 1.400 Square meters for relaxing and having fun. Anyway, at front desk we have always nice people willing to make your experience in Santiago and Chile sweeter!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa Roja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Roja Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing