We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-ma-zing hostel -- bad administration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Roja Hostel
Ranked #12 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This one-of-a-kind hostel is located on a cool neighborhood. It's a huge old mansion with a lot of rooms and it offers the maximum of interaction among the guests setting parties, tours and all. We stayed in a double private room with bathroom (#9) and everything was really nice and quiet :) (the parties are usually held on the huge backyard where the pool (not necessarily cleaned) and the bars are located.
The staff was 'ok' -- nothing outstanding, but also nothing too friendly as they claim to be.

I'd say that the managers should work a little bit more on the staff training, e-mails, calls. It seems to be a little loose. Though everything worked, such as the transfer from the airport for example, I never received a confirmation, so when I've got to the airport, I had already booked another cab to take us to the hostel because I try to schedule the hostel transfer and never received an e-mail back; the surprise was to see a lady holding a piece of paper with my name written on it at the exit gate at the airport.

I had to call the hostel three times to confirm my reservation because THEY DON'T ANSWER E-MAILS -- this happened in October -- no excuse for the lack of communication.

I highly recommend it anyhow, I made a lot of friends, slept well and had hot water at all times... just, could've been less worried about some stupid issues that could have beee solved with some more attention from the owners.

Room Tip: Private rooms with bathrooms are always nice -- No one bothering and 100% privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 531 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

Rooms are ok if a bit noisy, although this wasn't an issue for me. The biggest downfall is the staff! They are very rude and charge for things you didn't use and just say..oh well that's what is it, you have to pay. Don't get laundry done here as they don't weigh it for you so you never know what to expect to pay and will make no effort to help you out. You're meant to get a free breakfast if you get a private room and they didn't tell us this so they allowed us to pay everyday knowing we were in a private room. Worst hostel I have stayed in, would be so much better with all new staff!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

HUge big mansion house converted into a cool hostal. There´s a huge kitchen and dining area, free internet, lovely garden and pool.The rooms are really airy and a bit cold (just beacuse it´s such an old house). Good location and friendly staff, they had a curry night when we were there and it was awesome!!Great choice for Santiago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Dorms are ok, staff are great and offer good advice, bar is good fun and the kitchen is massive with everything you need

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great place and location. Clean and in order met great people and the owner. Coming from OZ this place rocks. Not too quiet not too loud just the right atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normalguy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Casa Roja is a great place to stay. I ended up friends with some of the staff. There's tons of room and the lockers are spacious. If you need to get away from people, you can always find somewhere in the giant place to chill out by yourself. This is my go to place for Santiago.

The location is very central and the kitchen is fabulous. The owner is a former backpacker and takes travelers' comfort seriously. They've got a great, well kept back yard and a pool, two lounges and loads of space. It's a great place to take a load off after extensive traveling. I especially liked the little private toilets out back.

I'm sure it can get a bit crazy in the summer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCrimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

liked the description and booked the double with bath room (number 8). It turned out to be a cell with only a window towards the patio. So you have choice: suffocate or risk being woken up at any hour of the night. The room is next door to the womens showers, where you ,ight hear ameircan girls showering at 4 am after a night out. And next to the patio, where you might overhear a drunken conversation at 6.30 in the moring.
All complaints were met with: "but it's a hostel". But 47 dollar for a room is not hostel prices. And I thought hostel meant being hosting.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 507 in Santiago
762 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 507 in Santiago
1,049 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 507 in Santiago
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 507 in Santiago
551 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#32 of 507 in Santiago
284 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Roja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Roja Hostel

Address: Agustinas 2113 | Barrio Brasil, Santiago 8340463, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $16 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa Roja Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barrio Brasil and a few steps from the subway, La Casa Roja hostel invites you to enjoy our swimming pool, big gardens and terraces, and more than 1.400 Square meters for relaxing and having fun. Anyway, at front desk we have always nice people willing to make your experience in Santiago and Chile sweeter!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Casa Roja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Roja Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing