We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza de Armas Hostel
Ranked #72 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hostel is fantastic, it looks more like a hotel than hostel, very open plan with muted lights. Very quiet but has so much outside seating for views over the Plaza de Armas. At night it was fantastic to sit on the balcony with a glass of red and take in the view. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilkennyRoseKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Plaza de Armas is the main plaza in Santiago and there is always something of interest there. The hostal is situated in an old colonial building that was originally a 5 star hotel, but has now been converted into apartments and the hostel occupies the top floor. The view from the terrace is amazing and overlooks the Plaza so you can see what the Chileans are getting up to. It is also close to lots of shops, the metro, you name it. Perfectly located! The rooms are a little cramped depending on which room you get but the kitchen is fully equipped and really lovely to cook in. There are 2 TV´s, wifi and computers to use. The staff are really helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help you. The best place I have been acquainted with so far.

Room Tip: There are spacious dorms with a private bathroom. Book these rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Pleasant hostel with an unbeatable view over the Plaza. Great central location close to public transport. Comfy beds, good storage (own padlock required) would definitely recommend at leat one night here for the beautiful view.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

No matter what your budget- everyone visiting Santiago should stay at this hostel for at least one night simply for the view!! The hostel is located at the top of a building on the main Plaza in Santiago. For location it cannot be beaten- metro stations, buses, taxis are all accessible from the front door of the building. Santiago is not a big city and so I walked everywhere from this hostel to see all the main sights.

From the balconey's of the hostel you look down on the main square which houses the cathedral and amazing central post office. This is an amazing sight (especially for people watching and soaking up the atmosphere) during the day and looks truely spectacular when lit up at night. That's got to be worth $10 a night alone!!

The dorm rooms are pretty much what you would expect for a modern hostel. Clean with bunk beds. Storage for bags etc is available in the hall way with big lockers (bring your own padlock). The bathrooms were perfectly fine. Clean enough but the communal changing area tended to stay rather wet because it was right by the showers.

The kitchen area looked fine but I didn't really use it. Breakfast was very standard- bread, jam, tea and coffee.

The communal area was good. TV, DVDs, sofas, computers with free internet (free wifi too). Friendly recpetion staff helped create a nice atmosphere. It was a good place to meet fellow travellers and hang out which I was pleased about because the Plaza de Armas area at night was not the nicest place to hang out as a solo female traveller.- That was the only drawback but then I think this can be common of most areas of Santiago when you are not yet familiar with the city and you haven't yet met people to go out with.

All in all I felt that this was a great place to be and I felt really safe here as a solo female.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

No matter what your budget- everyone visiting Santiago should stay at this hostel for at least one night simply for the view!! The hostel is located at the top of a building on the main Plaza in Santiago. For location it cannot be beaten- metro stations, buses, taxis are all accessible from the front door of the building. Santiago is not a big city and so I walked everywhere from this hostel to see all the main sights.

From the balconey's of the hostel you look down on the main square which houses the cathedral and amazing central post office. This is an amazing sight (especially for people watching and soaking up the atmosphere) during the day and looks truely spectacular when lit up at night. That's got to be worth $10 a night alone!!

The dorm rooms are pretty much what you would expect for a modern hostel. Clean with bunk beds. Storage for bags etc is available in the hall way with big lockers (bring your own padlock). The bathrooms were perfectly fine. Clean enough but the communal changing area tended to stay rather wet because it was right by the showers.

The kitchen area looked fine but I didn't really use it. Breakfast was very standard- bread, jam, tea and coffee.

The communal area was good. TV, DVDs, sofas, computers with free internet (free wifi too). Friendly recpetion staff helped create a nice atmosphere. It was a good place to meet fellow travellers and hang out which I was pleased about because the Plaza de Armas area at night was not the nicest place to hang out as a solo female traveller.- That was the only drawback but then I think this can be common of most areas of Santiago when you are not yet familiar with the city and you haven't yet met people to go out with.

All in all I felt that this was a great place to be and I felt really safe here as a solo female.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed in Plaza de Armas hostel in December 2011. On my way back to Australia after a South American tour, I wanted to make the maximum use of my 3 days to be spent in Santiago. Location was the most important factor for my choice of accommodation and you can't beat this place as it is in the Plaza de Armas itself.
I booked a single room with shower/toilets, yet had concerns about the noise factor it being so central and also a budget accommmodation. Private rooms were away from the dorm area, so it was unbelieveably quiet. An added bonus was the stunning views of the Plaza de Armas at night from the seventh floor balcony!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. A very special thanks should go to lovely Marisel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sriyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

After 1.5 months journey in Chile and Argentina, I came back to Santiago and find this hostel. It's like home - comfortable, relax, and clean.

Though It's a budget accomandation, it have 5-stars views , awesome lobby and public areas. The location is just in front of the Plaza de Armas. The staffs are friendly and rooms are clean,too.

I enjoy my stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#117 of 202 in Santiago
613 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#32 of 507 in Santiago
284 reviews
Ecohostel Chile
#90 of 507 in Santiago
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landay Hostel
#80 of 507 in Santiago
162 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#12 of 507 in Santiago
530 reviews
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza de Armas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Armas Hostel

Address: Compania de Jesus 960 dp 607, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Centro Histórico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 507 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $14 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Plaza de Armas Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the main historic centre of Santiago: the Kilometre Zero of Chile. This hostel is located in the last floor of a building from 1869, "Portal Fernández Concha" in front of the Plaza de Armas, the main and first square in the history of Chile. Our Hostel, with a contemporary concept and design, offers the best experience for travellers looking for new adventures on a walking distance. In the Hostel you will have the chance to enjoy our shared areas, relax in the living room while listening to music or watching TV, checking your emails, or spending time in the terraces where you can enjoy the view and watch all the activities going on downstairs in the square. In our terraces you can also sun bathe or enjoy a Chilean barbecue, with the best view of the Plaza de Armas and the city centre. If you want to have more fun, take part in our weekly activities, which include BBQs, tours, and parties. You can also easily visit many places in Santiago, since we are located just in front of the Plaza de Armas subway station. Our rates include: breakfast, linen, free internet access (Wi-Fi), and daily cleaning of each room. We also welcome wheelchair users, so we have special bathrooms and entrances. Here, in the city centre, you can find museums, art galleries, Santiago's Cathedral, parks, restaurants, banks, stores, cafés, historic monuments, the post office, all the most important information about Santiago, and a beautiful and contemplative view of this meaningful square. Our staff is young, professional and experienced in tourism. They are always waiting for you to give you the best service about tourist information, places to visit as well as to invite you to enjoy the facilities Plaza de Armas Hostel can offer you. We invite you to live end experience the cultural exchange that our country and hostel can provide with the best view, service and location ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Plaza de Armas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing