We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pisco sour in Santiago”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqui esta Coco

Aqui esta Coco
Ranked #21 of 4,526 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Providencia
El Macero
Level Contributor
118 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best pisco sour in Santiago”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Aqui Esta Coco has great seafood, Chilean style. The ambience is great for a friendly dinner on the terrace or for a large business dinner inside. Also, did I mention that their pisco sour is among the very best in Santiago - maybe the very best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennett_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,011
    904
    310
    91
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, creative food in a pleasant big city environment”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Acqui Esta Coco ("Here Is Coco") is an informal, nautically-themed restaurant on . place. side street in the upscale Providenzia section of Santiago, Chile. The fall (March) evenings are pleasantly cool (73-75F) so we chose to dine outside on the front patio, which is elevated and lined with flowering vines. Santiago recently banned smoking inside restaurants, so now all the smokers are outside. With evening breezes this is not a problem if you choose a table on the street side of the patio.

There are at least 20 fish dishes, 5 varieties of fish, and only 3 meat dishes, so this is a fish lovers place! Very creative presentations of scallops, a delicious hake dish, and a wonderful risotto with scallops. The dark/white chocolate dessert and the papaya dessert make great flavor contrasts and complements.

The interior of the restaurant is decorated with nautical memorabilia, and is densely packed.

US$140 for two with 2 drinks plus cappuchino each.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good food and service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I am surprised that this appears to be the first review .recommended by the hotel it was very popular needing to book 2/3 days before! Having finally worked out that we should meal share because of the large meals in South America we had normal European sizes but it was fine. We didn't share the coffee which caused a smile with excellent waiter! It was our last meal after 4 weeks in SA and was a great sign off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Serious fun for seafood and wine lovers”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After arriving yesterday noon in my hotel, I discovered that this restaurant was just a 10 minutes stroll away. I asked the reception to reserve and then went there the same evening. Reservation is a must, as even on a Monday night the place seemed packed. This is a vast, but very well organized operation with enough waiters around to ensure efficient service. I ordered ceviche as a starter and conger eel as main dish. The quality of the ingredients was very high, the fish impeccably fresh. The bread is not special, though.
The wine list is impressive and it was hard to make a choice. Finally, I settled for an excellent Pinot Noir recommended by the waiter. Of course, good wine has its price, but compared to restaurant prices of wine in many European countries, it is still a bargain here.
Service was friendly, competent, no problem to communicate in English. Topping up of wine worked very well and the Pinot Noir was just slightly chilled, as it should be. As I had some wine left after the main course, I asked for a small cheese platter. The cheese was nice enough, but not really impressive.
So, while there are some weaknesses, the excellent sea food plus strong wine list and good service make the four stars well justified.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and Not Pretencious”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a five star restaurant in my opinion. It is located in a beautiful building in a non-descript part of Santiago. A very cheery valet first greets you. Once inside the maitre d' welcomes you and graciously escorts your party to a table. We ate in the main dining room, which is a real treat to observe, let alone in which to take a meal.

The restaurant motif is nautical given that seafood is their specialty. It is very open and airy with decorations of ships, shells, fish and other interesting paraphernalia. Every seat back is shaped like the fluke of a whale. The bar is open, bright and has a huge whale sculpture hanging from its ceiling. The bar also has tables for food service and there are several other, intimate rooms for private parties. Don’t miss taking a trip downstairs to see the wonderful wine cellar and you might also ask about taking your meal there for real intimate dining. One of the restaurant’s most interesting rooms is the washbasin room just outside of the lavatories. Each sink is unique in that it is molded out of what looks like burl wood. This room also has an antique barbershop chair.

The food both in quality and presentation is outstanding. There is a very varied menu with very unique techniques of preparation. I had Sea Bass, vegetables and broth baked in tinfoil. It was delightful. Another dish we sampled was their scallops both grilled and in a seafood chowder. All of our meals were terrific. The wine list is extensive with some great choices.

The wait staff was very professional, attentive as well as helpful in many ways. We had two young children with us and they made sure they were well accommodated so the adults could enjoy their meal.

So far this is the best restaurant we experienced in Santiago.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqui esta Coco also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Aqui esta Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing