We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good paella”

La Cocina De Javier
Ranked #246 of 4,706 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chilean, Mediterranean, Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good paella”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good food. Service also good. Called our transport for us when meal was over. Very little English spoken but they had English menu. We had paella and it was very good. Sit in the front.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JetMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    77
    36
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some Jewels in the Menu”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Yesterday I had again a great Meal at Cocina de Javier, the Calamares en su tinta, was out of this world and although we usually go for the paella, anything we ordered was very good. being from the bask country, the owner "javier" stopped by the table and took care of us.
If you go there, order a good Carmenere red wine and make sure you order only 2 paella for 4 people...Croquetas de jamon and Pernil are some of my other favorites on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydneypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Poison, and the WORSE Customer Service buy the Owner”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I went for a dinner there, i had dinner with my dad and siter(we were visiting family in Chile) I got food poison and i contact them.. asking for what i thougth was fair...The refund of my dinner ONLY. Isabel Pascual owner called me ... telling me was IMPOSSIBLE that happened to me in her restaurant and as well been really rude telling me that i was looking for having food for free...
Then tyhe manager call me to apologise but was to late and he didn't called again for the refund... I called the health departament in Chile to check the restaurant.
If you want nice spanish food go to Spain, and in Chile are plenty of other type of restaurant to go instead of this one.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRASILIA
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Smart location, good Spanish-inspired food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have been to Javier´s on a number of occasions. My most recent meal (lunch) was last month (April). Frankly, I do not understand what certain others on this site have to complain about. I have tried various dishes, including the simple Spanish tortilla, "gambas al ajillo", etc. All very good (I never try paella in any place outside Valencia: it is usually disappointing. So avoid it here.) The service has always been attentive. The place is always packed with smart local people: not all of them can be totally misguided!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago, chile
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“my favourite Spanish restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I´ve been going there for many years. It´s like being in Spain- the menu- the owner- the atmosphere. The food is excellenet and very reasonably priced. There is a huge variety to choose from; it´s relaxed but not too much; it´s great for families; it´s been going for years and still gets full most evenings, so there must be a good reason for that bearing in mind the fierce competition in the surrounding area

Helpful?
Thank hardtoplease002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina De Javier also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to La Cocina De Javier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing