We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of La Torre Suiza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Torre Suiza
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Having realised that things happen when they happen with bus travel, we arrived in Villarrica late at night after late departure in Santiago, and a little exhausted, to find on arrival at La Torre Suiza very friendly faces including a couple who had been traveling with our daughter previously in Ecuador and Peru only months before. The welcome was fantastic. We were shown our room which we were told had views of Villarrica volcano which , in the morning was proved RIGHT. As if on order, it appeared out of the dawn. This was our first ever experience of hostel living, as a mature aged couple backpacking, we found it so good it set the pattern for the rest of our trip. The breakfast was fantastic, the location was great, and the recommendations for great restaurants were spot on. La Torre Suiza then set the benchmark. We would have loved to have stayed longer than our 3 days but we had further exciting places to visit. For a base location into the surrounding lakes and national parks areas you cannot go past La Torre Suiza for location, quality, atmosphere, cleanliness value and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try for the room on the first floor with the view of the volcano. This is room only but the bathroom...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for La Torre Suiza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at La Torre Suiza for 5 nights waiting for weather to clear for a hike. Though it never did, we absolutely loved our stay.The volunteer staff was exceptionally helpful as were the owners. We stayed in a double room with shared bath. Each floor has at least one bathroom w/ shower, and there are two on the main floor. While our 3rd floor room had very little clearance due to the slanted roof, we did have a view of the volcano. The wood floors are creaky but add charm. The walls are thin so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The whole house is open to guests including a 2nd floor kitchen which is fully stocked and includes a proper oven. A wood stove on the main floor is used to heat the house and help with wet clothes when necessary. Outdoors includes a garden w/ sitting areas, BBQ, self-serve laundry sink and drying line and parking. Every morning from 8 to 10am a typical German-style breakfast is served at no additional cost. If you stay 3 days or more, you will receive a 10% discount.

Room Tip: If you are tall, don't take a room on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in Villarrica for 3 nights at this charming hostel. The couple running it were charming and friendly and looked after their guests well. The place was clean and well maintained and kitchen facilities were good. Excellent computer and wifi with good advice on local trips and sights too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackdaw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Torre Suiza is centrally located in Villarica (5mins from bus station), rooms are small but cozy and some (on 3rd floor) have view on the Villarica volcano. Most rooms are with shared bath but everything was very clean, including a fully equipped kitchen. Breakfast is great - one of the best on our 6 months trip with self-made bread, yogurt, jams. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful in terms of recommendations for things to do in the area. They also have agreements with some travel agencies where guests get preferential prices. It is also possible to rent a bike. Only downside is that the house is very loud since the walls are thin, but this may be the case in all typical, wooden houses.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Woodstove kept this hostel cozy while we were there.
We rented the "matrimonial con banyo" private room with bathroom, which was cozy. Wood building style made for a lot of creaking sounds when people went by in the hallway, but everyone at the hostel was very quiet and mature. Breakfast was nice Swiss breakfast, including drip coffee which was unusual (we often got Nescafe) and creamy homemade yogurt. Clean kitchen for making our own dinner. Stores and markets were within easy walking distance for buying food. We had a rental car, so we were able to enjoy everything the area has to offer - Huerquehue National Park for hiking, Los Pozones rustic hot springs, great Peruvian lunch and German tortes in Pucon, etc etc. When we wanted to climb Volcan Villarrica, owner arranged for a guide to pick us up at the hostel, we got a small discount through her connections with the guide. Owner did our laundry (for a fee) and put it folded back in our room after drying it by hanging it over the woodstove.
The owners have since gone back to Switzerland; the place is now run by another Swiss woman, who we did not meet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xklgjkdfgjkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

In our guidebook this place was described as "very Swiss", so we expected it to be squeeky clean and tightly run but cosy. In reality, the feeling was different. Everything was clean, but not extremely so, and not cleaner than other locally run places we'd been to in Chile. It was also quite cosy, as a building, everything made out of wood, but at the same time very tight. It felt like too many rooms had been squeezed into it. The walls were very thin, but fortunately this did not create trouble as our neighbours were quite civilised. Indeed, the best thing about this place is that it attracts a mixed, but generally mature crowd of individuals and couples (no partying youngsters), which makes it a good place to meet interesting people.

The thing that sets this place apart, slightly unpleasantly, is the way it is run by the Swiss couple Beat and Claudia. They are actually nice people, and very helpful in giving advice and organising things, but they don't really give you the feeling you're welcome. It started for us when we were shown our room: a twin instead of the double we had reserved. When we mentioned this, we were told "well this is what we have available for you so this is what you can take". In general, the owners were very explicitly present, and it seemed that something in the house had to be closed or checked or adjusted constantly. You got the feeling the guests were treated more as school kids or military cadets than as guests.

All in all we enjoyed staying here, but that was mostly thanks to the other guests, and not so much the hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Há quartos com vista para o vulcão
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JehnifferJVieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villarrica hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal y Cabanas Don Juan
Hostal y Cabanas Don Juan
#5 of 21 in Villarrica
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omi Kika
Omi Kika
#10 of 21 in Villarrica
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Bilbao
Hosteria Bilbao
#9 of 52 in Villarrica
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Complejo Alto Villarrica
Complejo Alto Villarrica
#3 of 4 in Villarrica
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mapu Hostel
Mapu Hostel
#7 of 52 in Villarrica
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Alcazar
Hostel El Alcazar
#25 of 52 in Villarrica
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torre Suiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre Suiza

Address: Francisco Bilbao 969, Villarrica, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Villarrica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Villarrica
Price Range: $47 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Torre Suiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing