We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good; Secure; Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelera Borde Rio
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very Good; Secure; Quiet”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a large room in the main building of this rambling place and thought ourselves very lucky. We were especially grateful to have off-street parking, here, which is perfectly secure (because gated). The breakfasts were adequate. We thought it was really good value for money. It's not at all a 'party place' kind of hostel for young people. There was a rather random-seeming mix of people, including at least one tour group and some Chilean businessmen who clearly recognize that this is a good, relatively cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located, reasonable hostal then this is a good place to come. The rooms are spacious, well equipped - cable tv and comfortable beds etc.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, they served muffins which did not seem too fresh, bread, a small serving of cheese and ham, yoghurt, and instant coffee! Sorry, after 7 years in Colombia I still cannot get used to instant coffee.
The service was very good, which compensated for many things. The staff are friendly, helpful, and able to give you local insight. They kindly stored 10 kilos of the finest catch on sale at the local fish market in their freezer for me, and made up sandwiches for our breakfast as we checked out early.
Our sleep was disrupted by a bunch of drunken football louts outside the window one night. Nobody seemed capable of shutting them up or moving them along.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritInColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

we stay 3 nights an we like this hostal !
the room was big and nice decorated
we like the brekfast and the sevice was excelent
thei have a big parking and the hostal is clouse to the center and the fish mercado
we recomended - specialy if you have a car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drukmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The location is really great. Valdivia is small, but it was good to be so close to the city center. That being said, the facilities are not nice, and the staff is worse. We were never given any indication that our presence there was appreciated, nor were we helped. We almost missed our bus to Santiago because of the front desk clerk's ambivalence. The cabin, which we rented thinking it would be nicer than the hostel, was very poorly insulated, our heater didn't work, the bedding was gross and stained, and the breakfast was very meager - rolls and instant coffee. I would not suggest this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sguid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viñamarino en Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Very bad temper and lack of interest into help visitors, for the recepcionist, without exclusion.
All of them were very rude without even salute when walking into the receptionist office.
When asked for help to contact a taxi for the next morning, they just did not do it.
The cabin was intended for 4 people, very small and with a narrow and very inclinated staircase.

A RIP OFF !!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hugueitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#7 of 13 in Valdivia
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
#2 of 13 in Valdivia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelera Borde Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelera Borde Rio

Property: Hostelera Borde Rio
Address: Camilo Henriquez 746, Valdivia 5110599, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelera Borde Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Hostal and cabins with private bath, housekeeping, wi-fi, cards system (visa, master) and security all day. We are located in the urban center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hostelera Borde Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing