We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, cheap price, very friendly and helpful (English Speaking) manager!”
Review of Totem

Totem
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totem
Ranked #3 of 27 Valdivia B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We wandered from place to place in the area looking for lodging. We were first shown a fairly small room, but when asked if there was something bigger were shown an excellent sized room for not all that much more money and made a decision on the spot to stay there for a couple nights.

Its called a Hostel, and the furniture looked like it had been collected from a variety of places, but the beds were comfortable, the shower worked well, had free and good WIFI, and was much closer to a Hotel than Hostel.

Breakfast was fine, nothing special, nothing bad....normal for Chile.

The manager, though, made the difference. He worked something like 10am-7:30pm daily, spoke Spanish, French and English all fairly fluently. Was VERY helpful in terms of figuring out what to do, where, etc. He knows a lot about the area, and what he didn't know he volunteered to look up.

The evening woman wasn't as helpful (but not terribly so), and didn't speak English. The lights in the central area were on a bit late the first night (the main door to the room is obscured glass)...we had to ask her to shut them off, which she promptly did.

Did I mention that we got all this for a low, low rate?!

Like a number of places of its kind you aren't given a key to the front door, so have to buzz in every time you go in/out, which makes you feel a bit odd about running out to the car to get something, but...

We'd definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Second floor was good, though tough (narrow) stairs to haul luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleBasedVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 94 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

A bit grotty, not very clean, and noisy. Friendly staff though

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
Thank jimbob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked a couple of nights here after seeing the positive reviews on TA. At the price I was not expecting too much, but even then I was thoroughly disappointed!

The room was dirty, the bathroom had not been cleaned after the previous guests. Hair and grime around the sink etc. Then when I pulled back the sheets on the bed, gravel and stones in the bed! One can only ask 'how .....'

I only stayed there because it was evening and didn't want to sleep in the car, but I did get on the phone to find an alternative for the following night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxembourgWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro R, Gerente at Totem, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

¿Why you didn't tell us? We would change/clean your room inmediatly. In very few cases we make mistakes, february is very high season and may be there was a confusion, but nothing unfixable!! With your opinion people could think we always have stones in our beds... ¿why you didn't tell us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The hostel is nice, it's comfy, all wooden, doubles have private bathroom. Romms are clean, I am not sure wether the kitchen is a community kitchen or not, didn't look like it, but, as usual in Chile and Argentina, the Hostel offers a simple, but good breakfast which is included in the price. It is not too far away from the river and the centre of town. Enjoy ur stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a really nice place to stay in Valdvia, and considering the cost its a bargain! Very friendly staff and the rooms are very quirky. They're not modern rooms, but everythings there for travellers, including a good breakfast in the morning. My only complaint would be the quality of the matress and bed which we slept on.

We found Totem listed in the Rough Guide to Chile, and was one of their better recommendations!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peeled_apples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Cozy and inexpensive with friendly and helpful staff - i cant believe this place is not featured in the Lonely Planet or Rough Guide. Totem is located in a leafy neighborhood of charming wooden houses just close enough to the city centre that one is not disturbed by the hordes of students that roam this university town.

free WiFi.

recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaioatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Hey, it was inexpensive. Heated, friendly, hot water 24/7 and for Chile a varied breakfast. Well the type of bread changes and if you travel enough in Chile that helps.

English is spoken. The place is clean. Free WiFi internet, free internet, and if they fix that hic up in the email reservation system they will pick you up from the bus station. Also they offer a relatively
inexpensive laundry service. Limited kitchen use and fridge privileges add to the value of this charming spot.

Valdivia is small enough so it is walking distance to anywhere, including the bus station. Depending on the amount of luggage you drag around with you.

http://web.mac.com/rmshort/iWeb/Valdivia
the above link takes you to pictures of Valdivia. If it is not blue then cut and paste into google.

3  Thank Traveltime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Chumaihuen
Hostel Chumaihuen
#3 of 84 in Valdivia
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Cruz Del Sur
#8 of 27 in Valdivia
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aroma Verde Hotel Boutique
Aroma Verde Hotel Boutique
#1 of 27 in Valdivia
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Casablanca Valdivia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem

Address: Carlos Anwandter 425, Valdivia 5110239, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Valdivia
Price Range: $60 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse for world travellers, central heating, Internet, cable TV in rooms, private bathrooms, strategically located, great staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Totem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing