We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likely best, and a very good, hotel in Valdivia”
Review of Hotel Naguilan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Naguilan
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Naugilan rates at least a solid A-, and I'd like to give it an A, actually really an A+, but can't go that far. Contrary to some travel books, it is not inconvenient and far from downtown Valdivia. At least three buses go right by it at frequent intervals. A cab, for instance from the bus station, is quite inexpensive by Chilean (further south) lake country standards. It is a beautiful property situated on the river. All rooms face the river and there is a very nice patio facing the river as well. We stayed in a room in the standard, not the deluxe, wing for I think $106 a night when we paid in U.S. dollars. The Chilean peso price is higher. The deluxe rooms were about $150, but we didn't need that. The room was very clean and well-attended to. The breakfast (included) was very good, not the most variety we experienced in Chile, but certainly enough variety and good quality. We also enjoyed the dinners in their very nice dining room. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, though one night staffer (likely not understanding Wifi) set my wife off when he seemed to say that the hotel's Wifi didn't work, when he should have said it didn't work in the rooms, but did work in the large area at the entrance. That issue was eventually solved and my wife was happy. Why only a A-. One waiter (male) was grumpy (on two occasions; the waitress was sunny-dispositioned) and my bed was a lumpy (and in need of a new mattress). All in all, however, we had a pleasant stay here and in Valdivia. Touristy, but not as touristy as the lake country towns, Valdivia has some well presented history in the downtown university museums. We took two river cruises. One -- the one to the forts -- likely would have been enough. But we were very happy in Valdivia (and at this hotel, stayed at by many passing through middle-class Chilenos and Argentinians). If you want cheaper accommodations, there are touts at the bus station offering hotel rooms at half the price we paid. But, from all we saw from the outside, we were better off spending a bit more (which we can afford at our stage in life). The downtown casino hotel (looming over the bridge) did not look appealing to us.

Room Tip: Check out both standard and deluxe rooms if both are available. Maybe best also to check out the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60726Nicky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is a beautiful building, with additional rooms in two adjacent buildings. The rooms were fine, but could use a fan because the rooms get hot if the drapes are not closed during the day. (The cleaning staff could easily do this so the rooms are not so hot when you check in.) The balcony (facing west) with a view of the river was great, but we were surprised that there were no chairs on the balcony. So we headed down to the pool where they had chaises (and shade) while our room cooled off.

Since you get a free drink with check in, we had a pisco sour and tried their mango sour which was very good. The bartender was very nice, but the two people at the front desk acted like it was just a job.

Breakfast was better than average with scrambled eggs and the usual sliced meat, cheese, bread, pastry, juice & coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Choices are limited in Valdivia, Chile. This seemed the best of a mediocre selection of hotels.

The hotel is well-situated slightly outside of town on the river. Views from the rooms and the dining room are lovely, but this is the only thing the hotel has that makes it worth staying here. We were in the auxiliary building, across the parking area from the main hotel. Our room was rustic (and that's not a compliment), musty and somewhat seedy.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel after a long drive from Puerto Montt, we felt the lack of hospitality. We received no smile or pleasant greeting from the woman at the front desk, just a scowl and surly expression. We had to ask about everything--did she have a map of the city, what time was breakfast, where was breakfast.

Though we had read that the hotel had wifi in the rooms, that did not prove to be true. We went to the lobby bar to use our laptops. Like the other hotel personnel we encountered, the bar man was less than friendly. We had to flag him down to get a drink.

The breakfasts were minimal and not good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizadorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is an excellent choice to visit Valdivia, almost 800 kms south of santiago and located on the coast. Valdiivioa is a city full of charms of the german colonization of the south, mixed with local fisherman and artisanry. Worth a visit specially due to local flora and fauna which is stunning.
Nice places to eat, good river navigation (the hotel is located on the reiver calle calle).
The hotel is very good, excellent food and a good quality in rooms: A nice deck with amazing view and friendly poeple.
The pending issue is the reservation system. So please, if you do bookings thru internet take your receipt printed and check with them thru an email (maybe sending it in advance would be a good idea).

Nice choice, walking distance from the city, very nice view. Reccomended.

Room Tip: choose a room on the second floor with balcony if you can....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved that this hotel was outside of town right on the river. The back deck is lovely to sip wine and watch the sun go down. We even watched a sealion eating a fish at night. Amazing! Also the restaurant here is absolutely delicious! Order the lamb chops. Best meal of our trip down south.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank eliswift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent two nights in Valdivia and used T.A. to find somewhere more interesting than standard hotel; the Naguilan, on the banks of the river, is a good choice, easy to find, with a map (but when driving watch out for two way roads that suddenly become one-way, with scant warning - seems to be a Valdivia thing; the road leading into town from the hotel is one such). The main building, an old elite residence, is quite impressive (not unlike one of the lesser C19 Spanish paradors); the rooms are more modest - three and half stars at most - though comfortable; the wi-fi seems never to work in the rooms or the neighbouring lobbies. Maybe it works in the main building - quien sabe? We were there for a Friday and Sat. in late September, but it was pretty deserted; the restaurant was good (but quite pricey); the breakfast OK, though one felt that things could be better organized (disfunctional toaster; breakfast stlll being set up fifteen minutes after it was meant to start, etc.). So, worth a visit, but room for improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel seems to receive extreme reviews, good and bad. I found it quite enjoyable even enjoying the river traffic that passed right by our window!

For me, it seems that those who want to enjoy a Chilean experience like it and those who want to be a world traveler in Chile do not. Possibly this is a generalization that will not hold water.

If you stay here, be sure to visit the scenic parts of Valdivia outside of town as well as the city center.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank EstebanRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
#2 of 13 in Valdivia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#7 of 13 in Valdivia
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Naguilan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Naguilan

Address: General Lagos 1927, Valdivia 5111174, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Naguilan 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Naguilán is located in an elegant german style building, 900 meters from the Square of the Republic of Valdivia, in General Lagos street; keeping the heritage of German architecture. It is located 32 kilometers from Pichoy Airport. The hotel offers rooms overlooking the Canal Haverbeck, equipped with plasma TV, free Wi-Fi, breakfast and a welcome drink, also has a large garden with pool and terrace overlooking the Valdivia river. Guests can relax on the terrace or in the lobby of the Hotel overlooking the river, swim in the pool, try our cuisine at the Esencia restaurant or enjoy reading a book in the lounge. We have 32 rooms, which are equipped with everything that is needed to make you feel at home. We have three categories of rooms: Standard Superior Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Naguilan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing