We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Encanto del Rio
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is definitely for the college student on a shoe string holiday budget. The tiny room, bare bones furnishing including hard foam rubber pillows, very basic breakfast of extremely poor quality food left a great deal to be desired. No English is spoken. There was a glimpse of the river if you pressed your face against the window frame. At least the $89 US was priced right. Valdivia seems pretty down at the heel as well.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you are desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great location next to the river, very close to the city centre and with some great restaurants just along the street. Hotel itself is good, rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet also very good, and much wider choice than other places I've stayed in Chile. However, on the negative, I had no hot water either day I was there and no water at all in the evening, which is definitely not what I'd expect for any price, certainly not hotel prices.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 or 2 have a view out over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I slept on a tired old mattress that felt like it had a mountain range underneath it. The other bed in the room had only a foam mattress. The window blinds failed to stop the street lights bathing the room with bright light - all night. Tour groups seem to like this place - and when groups are there, other guests are marginalised. I received a wake-up call at 06:30 that was intended for tour group people - the very morning I wanted to sleep in! Breakfast was adequate but some food only made an appearance when the tour group arrived.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent two nights in a nice room with a terrace overlooking the river. We took the river tour and saw some great birds (20 or so) and really beautiful fishing boats. Room was cosy and quiet. Good wi-fi and some English TV. Good value. Nice breakfast room with included breakfast. Staff were great. Secure parking in the back.

Room Tip: We were shown a room without a terrace first but when we pushed a little we got an upper room with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here in late March 2013. We wanted a move up from a hostel and found this place. Overall good thought elevator was out and we had to take our luggage up to third floor. You can hear the street traffic. Got the room for about $130. Late March there are not many tourist in town. Room was crampped but we had four beds. Breakfast was good but get there early, good bread ran out. Parking is very limited, staff has to park the car as you come in a small dirt driveway around hotel. Hotel is good but think I would stay at a hostel and save $40 per night next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanV593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank jchormazabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Rscheihing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#6 of 13 in Valdivia
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
953 reviews
0 mi away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hostelera Borde Rio
Hostelera Borde Rio
#9 of 13 in Valdivia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encanto del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encanto del Rio

Address: Av. Arturo Prat 415, Costanera, Valdivia 5090000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Price Range: $87 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encanto del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Encanto del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing