We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostel in good location”
Review of Bosque Nativo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bosque Nativo
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel in good location”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hostel has everything you need and want; great kitchen, really nice lounge area and very comfy beds. It was really chilly when we were in Valdiva, but the fire was always lit and it was lovely and warm! The location is good to explore the local area, which is easily done on foot. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    46
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
53
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hostel is from a non-profit organisation and the funds help to maintain the native forests in Chile. So you will not expect a luxury hostel, but it is built with a lot of wood (each room has another type of wood for the walls and furniture) what gives a very cosy feeling.

As volunteers are working as receptionists, service may be different from time to time. At our time it was okay.

The only really uncomfortable issue is that the wooden walls are too thin, you can hear all steps on the stairs and outside your bedroom door. So this hostel is not the best option if you want to stay more than one or two nights.

The bathroom was basic, very small, but clean.

The common area where you get breakfast was a dream - full of light, inventive furniture -and free internet.

As the location of the hotel is near to the center (although in a very quiet street), I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hostel Bosque Nativo is one of the nicer hostels I've seen. The interior is themed in native wood, and the common rooms have books and forest products to look at, while relaxing in the lounge, giving it a cozy warm feel. Common areas were clean, had wireless internet and easy access for cooking in the nicely stocked kitchen. The staff was attentive, and accommodating, especially on cold nights, where they had an assortment of warm woolly slippers for all the guests! There is even a rooftop deck that has a great view of Valdivia - this was a super find during the quiet afternoon. The location, on a quiet neighborhood side street could not be better for walking around town or easy access to the bus depot. The only negative I would give it would be the tiny shower space with no place to hang your towel while showering. And it was only sometimes running warm water.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We went with a group of 11 students from North Carolina State University to study conservation management in the Valdivian Temperate Forests. The hostel was great for our large group. We had a wonderful asado there and it was very convenient to downtown and teh University Austral de Chile. In addition, we really appreciated all the information in the hostel on native forests. I would recommend this hostel to anyone for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccienek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Stayed here for two nights after the Aires Buenos Hostel lost our reservation (despite it being confirmed two days prior). Our first impression was good. It's on a quiet street, yet still close to town. The building is quaint and has beautiful wood throughout and was kept relatively clean. The kitchen and dining area are nice.

However, the main purpose of lodging is sleeping, and for this reason I cannot give this place higher than a 3 rating. The family that runs the hostel is incredibly noisy, and the walls don't dampen their cacaphony at all. Both nights we could hear their TV and loud talking until 2am, as well as their playing with a little child.

Additionally, the front desk was often not staffed, making it tough to get help. You also had to ring the doorbell to be let in, which wouldn't be an issue if there was always someone to let you in.

We wanted to like this place, but the sleep deprivation wouldn't let us. If Bosque Nativo were run more professionally, it would probably be the best budget option in Valdivia.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HostelHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Such a beautiful place! everything is great. So quiet and warm, I hope come back soon with more time to enjoy all Valdivia's details. It's a nice "bosque nativo" hostel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bichoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostelera Borde Rio
Hostelera Borde Rio
#9 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
#2 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#6 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque Nativo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque Nativo

Property: Bosque Nativo
Address: Fresia 290, Valdivia 5110232, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Valdivia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bosque Nativo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing