We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent town hotel”
Review of Hotel Turismo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Turismo
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Temuco
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very decent town hotel”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really liked this hotel. For the price it was amazing value. Great beds with wonderfully clean white sheets and a nice bathroom and shower. Much better than your average Travel Lodge in the UK. Very secure parking. Within 5 to 10 minutes walk of most things, right in the center. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
36
27
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this hotel, we found the room large, clean and comfortable. We were glad to get an early check-in which was greatly appreciated after an overnight bus trip from Santiago. The breakfast was tasty and the coffee was good, none of that instant stuff you usually find in Chile. Located nearby are a bakery and two supermarkets and within walking distance of the local market hall. The cable TV was good.

Negatives: Our room at the end of the hallway, second floor, was located near some very loud washing machines? Although offered free Wi-Fi, it did not work on our floor and nothing was done to fix it. The room did not have an iron or hairdryer which at the nightly rate, should have been available. No Porter service, we had to lug our heavy luggage upstairs even though reception saw us struggling. we almost fell actually. On our first day, hot water service wasn't working. Even though it was fixed promptly, they obviously knew about the problem but they didn't tell us which made for a rude shock in a shower.

Overall a comfortable hotel, but you could probably find better alternatives at this rate.

Room Tip: stay clear of rooms at the end of the hallway, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabi_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

It doesn't get to the disgusting category, but this cheaply furnished placed delivers an almost OK experience. I wouldn't recomended but if you are forced to be there it is not so unpleasant. Service people are very kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

For a hotel called "Turismo", we figured the front desk staff woudl speak at least a bit of English. Nope!

On check-in we were told the rate, and a better rate (in Pesos) for foreigners exempt from IVA. We were told they accepted credit cards. We were shown the room, and directed to the parking.

What they didn't tell us was that they didn't have any water service! There was a break in the water main somewhere nearby and had been for some hours. Only after we asked were we told. Later, only after we asked for both drinking water and water for the toilet did they provide both.

We were told to pay when we checked out. As rates without IVA officially must be in USD or Euros, they calculated the rate in USD and wrote the receipt...but used a crazy low Peso to USD exchange rate which added 15% to the cost of the room (i.e. now about the same as the price WITH IVA).

The only way to get the "without IVA" rate was to give them cash in Pesos for the "without IVA" rate (which really was just a discount - since we paid in Pesos they still have to pay IVA...that is, if they even report the money I gave them). It was bait and switch! No wonder they didn't want us to pay until we departed.

Otherwise, it was an average hotel in an average area of town (not in the center of things).

Hospital and grocery store 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleBasedVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temuco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brisas del Sur
Hotel Brisas del Sur
#4 of 15 in Temuco
133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Temuco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frontera
Hotel Frontera
#6 of 15 in Temuco
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro
Hotel Diego de Almagro
#3 of 15 in Temuco
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RP
Hotel RP
#5 of 15 in Temuco
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bello Temuco
Hotel Bello Temuco
#13 of 15 in Temuco
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turismo

Property: Hotel Turismo
Address: Almirante Patricio Lynch N. 563, Temuco 4791033, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Temuco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Temuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turismo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Turismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing