We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok... Good and bad points”
Review of Hotel El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Greco
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Good points:
Comfy bed
Easy check in
Good price (1 Friday night $78)
Good location
Off street parking (though only a few spaces)
Breakfast was good
Good, friendly staff
Interesting decor with quirky vintage pieces and artwork

Bad points:
Found dirty towels in our room from previous occupants
Shower did not work
Bed sheets had permanent stains on them

So altogether, a cheap, one nights stay was ok. If you wanted more luxury, you need to pay more!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Greco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hi, I was going to spend 5 days in the hotel and I spent 2, although desk people were nice, I couldn't get any sleep, the walls are too thin, and it was noisy, then the rooms have not proper black-out curtains so you get the light. Breakfast not good in my opinion. I mean you go to a B&B in Buenos Aires and you get proper coffee, etcetera.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. I liked the hotel. It's clean and nice, very close to main square. We had a room on the first floor. It was small, but it was a corner room with 2 big windows!
I think that the price is a bit steep, because of specific design.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarjaVolovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Like a lot of buildings in Puerto Varas, this hotel is constructed mainly of wooden panels (interior and exterior). This has it’s charm for a lot of buildings in Puerto Varas (in particular the old German mansions), but for a hotel it is not really that great, because the walls are thin and don’t stop any noise from getting into your room.
If the hotel mostly was visited by “quiet” visitors this is not necesarily a problem, but El Greco attracts quite a lot of tour groups (we stayed here in the Chilean summer high season) with noisy youths.
Check in time is very late (15:00 hours). Staff was friendly but not overly willng to help. In the reception area they have a computer with touristic information which we found useful.
The rooms are spaceous and the beds are good. The bathroom is old but nothing was broken and we got hot water most of the time from the shower.
Breakfast is good with toast, cereal, yoghurt, juice, fresh fruit, tea/coffee, marmelade etc. But if you visit during high season it is advisable to take your breakfast early or late to avoid the groups.
Wifi was working fine in our room.
The rate of USD 105 per night for this room was quite in line with the rates of other 3-star hotels, but was too high for the quality offered to our opinion and we would look for an other hotel anyway if we visit (beautifully situated) Puerto Varas again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I really liked this hotel. It had loads of character throughout with a warm, welcoming reception area. Throughout the hotel there was lots of wooden furniture which gave the feeling that you were in the Swiss Alps. There is lots of really cool artwork, antiques and distressed furniture throughout and we liked the bar area which was very inviting and cosy but I agree with lots of other reviews that it could do with a bit of updating as it was looking a little bit tired.

The location was about 10 minutes to all the bars and restaurants so the hotel was fairly central. There were 4 beds in our room so it was a bit cramped and the hotel had a strange policy where you were not allowed to bring in alcohol according to the owners it attracted the mice but apparently food was ok! The staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Good and interesting hotel. The decoration is very unique, the rooms are comfortable, good localization and we could negotiate a fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This is a very quirky hotel. There is art everywhere - paintings, antiques, feature furniture, walls, ornaments. The complete opposite of a standard hotel! It is a little tired though. Breakfast was simple but filling. The staff are helpful. It's a short walk (down hill) to get to the main plaza. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Bel_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
1.3 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,897 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Borde Lago
Hotel Borde Lago
#19 of 27 in Puerto Varas
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Greco

Address: Mirador 134, Puerto Varas 0, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $58 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Greco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing