We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views of the Lake”
Review of Hotel Puelche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Puelche
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our stay in Puerto Varas was perfect! We loved the hotel. Welcoming interior, warm, nice lounge with fireplace. Our room as a nice size with huge window seat to enjoy the lake views. Very nicely furnished, comfortable bed and the heat was regulated in the room. Breakfast was a normal assortment of yogurts, bread, jam, coffee, etc. We were visiting Puerto Varas during the winter so the restaurant / bar were on limited hours (or at least that is what I understood) and closed every time we wanted to go. The staff was very helpful and they made sure we had parking. We would stay here again. I recommend requesting a room with a view as some of the rooms do not look at the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for five nights during a trip to Southern Chile. It was our second trip to Puerto Varas, and we were looking for somewhere comfortable, yet convenient for the local restaurants and shops. Hotel Puelche was great. We had a lovely large room, with a view over the volcanoes; and the furnishings were very cosy. Breakfast was good, and the staff were very friendly. The location was very convenient for us - close to the town centre in one direction, and a selection of waterfront restaurants in the other. Basically, we couldn't have been happier, and at the price we paid, I doubt that anywhere in Puerto Varas offers better value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Good clean and friendly hotel. Nice bedrooms with two large beds and modern bathroom with lovely bath and nice towels. Comfortable lounge area with free internet. The small spa was not working when we were there but it looked good. Great restaurant attched to hotel very busy we had to wait for a table. We took our drinks into the hotel lounge and the waiter came to get us when our table was ready. Nice food lots of locals eating here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We had large, well-designed and very comfortable rooms on the top floor of the hotel, with truly marvellous views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Breakfasts were very good and overall the level of service was high.

Room Tip: Top floor, overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I could not recommend the Hotel Puelche more.

The room was huge with 2 big comfortable beds and a view over the lake to the volcanos. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and even brought us some champagne when they found out it was my friend's birthday.
The restaurant attached to the hotel served outstanding food and was full of locals, always a good sign. We were lucky to get a table.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank JHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I loved staying here. Puerto Varas is beautiful, and this hotel is just fabulous. Clean, and well appointed rooms. We were a "triple" and we had excellent accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our seven-day stay at this beautifully located, boutique hotel. We received personal attention, getting to know staff members, throughout our stay and the design and architectural quality of this hotel was luminous and inviting. It is just at the edge of downtown, with a small spa room, where we enjoyed an afternoon of sauna and massage, and an inviting living room on the first floor, complete with a roaring fire. On each floor, there is a sofa and table to form a sitting area, with large windows with stunning views of the lake and surrounding volcanoes. The breakfast spread each morning on the second floor offered an enticing variety of kuchens, fresh fruit, yogurt and croissant for the complementary breakfast. Best of all, there is an excellent restaurant right next to the hotel, where we could bop over, order dinner, (with waiters that speak English) and have it delivered to our floor for a romantic evening for two (La Ollita). No need to trod around town looking for a decent place to eat when it is right under your nose. The food here is really great (we tried the congrio, stuffed avacados, salads with palmitos and avocado, and caldio de congrio--yummy!!) All in all, it was a consistently stellar experience. Highly recommended! A tip--there is construction going on across the street which creates a small amount of noise during the day, so we asked for a room facing the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario_molina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.4 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,727 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Molino
Casa Molino
#12 of 27 in Puerto Varas
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puelche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puelche

Address: Imperial 695, Puerto Varas 12345, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $115 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puelche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Boutique Hotel in Puerto Varas. Located at 8 minutes walk form the centre on a residential area, very quiet and peacefull. More than a hotel, your house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Puelche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puelche Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing