We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice but with bedbugs”
Review of Casa Margouya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Margouya
Ranked #12 of 40 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Quite nice but with bedbugs”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent several days in january 2012 in a 6-bed dorm at casa Margouya. The facilities are good, part of the staff very helpful and friendly and the location is quite nice, BUT: In one bed (both upper and lower bed) there were bedbugs and told about this the staff didn't even want to see it and didn't care about it. I had 1 week problems with it.
Additionally, another negative thing that unfortunately determined the stay was the false weight of our laundry. We paid 3 Kilos more which we found out later, having washed all the clothes again.
Nice atmosphere but they should care for their house better and change their laundry service.

Room Tip: Don't take the right bed in the 6-bed dorm on the right side...or ask if they have cleaned it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margouya, Owner at Casa Margouya, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Hi
would like to answer at the last review particulary and some olds one.
For the bedbugs , I m really sorry about that , we are working hard on those case , I wasn t here when this happen .I would like to make clear than we are making our best to have a clean and relax hostal , people are working every day to clean it , but with so many backpackers coming from camps, mountains and traveling around the world, some bugs are arriving and are very difficult to destroy. We are working on that , I promiss it.
For that we ask to everyone to help us , by let us know if something is wrong at the moment .
For the smoking area , the problem is fixed because it s a No Smoking hostal know.
For the problem with the receptionist 2 years ago, it s fixed too, because she is not working with us any more.
For the problem with me, Nicolas the owner, I would like to apologize , if I had bad moment o mood at this time...won t happen again .
Our new manager is working with our receptionist to give the best as we can.
So , critical are good , when apropriate , we have to accept them , but I hope too, people have to understand and believe than we are human and we always try to do our best for our clients.
Have a nice journey in Chile and South America
Nicolas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    13
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
29
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Smoking in front of the rooms therefor you sleep in the smoke, small noisy rooms for that money no value. Expensive!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wienerin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Varas hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

this place could be great but has some downfalls. the place itself is a trendy little spot with high wooden beams and a comfy common area. the kitchen is big and the rooms are comfortable. the breakfasts are great, big variety and very filling. on the down side, the staff is a bit strange, the vibe set is one of over-calmness with trippy indian lounge music and sometimes it feels as if the sheets haven't been cleaned. plus, if you're looking for a quiet night, dorm or not you're unlikely to get one. all the rooms are set around the common area and the walls are far from sound proof.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaahh_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I only stayed one night, but really enjoyed the atmosphere of this hostel - very laid back, but the staff were always there and were very helpful. Breakfast was great. Good location right in the middle of the town and close to the lake. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rslatyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The hostel has a great location in central Puerto Varas metres away from the lakeshore. It's pretty small, and has dorm rooms off a central communal area. A lot of French travellers were there. The atmosphere was pretty good, the dorms reasonably clean but not too quiet. A good place for backpackers on a budget, won't stretch expectations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ximboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We loved our stay in Margouya. When we first arrived we met some guy and two girls who had just arrived as well, every one by its own. They invited us to sit and have some drink and there it started one of the most remarkable days from our stay in Chile. The owner is a French guy, very friendly, who left us alone as he went to have a drink. "If someone wants a room, let him in, he'll pay me tomorrow" he said, and actually someone came looking for a room and he joined us.

We eventually left the hostel to buy some food and drink, then returned back and stayed chatting until 5am or so.

Okay, probably I'm talking more about the people in there than the place itself. So there I go: the place is nicely decored, nothing expensive nor studied anywhere but somehow attractive to the eye. The beds are comfortable and although the place looks a bit messy on the first sight, it's actually clean.

It's so very well located, just in the heart of Puerto Varas, close to anywhere you may want to go: the bus station, the casino, restaurants, markets... everything is just leaving the door. There's a very nice pub just two streets from there in which they use to play live music. Very advisable as well.

Don't imagine it's a luxurious place because it's not: it's a youth hostel and that's everything you should ask for. For its price, it's brilliant. All in all, I would go back with no hesitation. 100% advisable, yep!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veintitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Truly awful. Dorm rooms smelled like something had died there, guests were using several beds each so no clean ones for newcomers, staff disappeared "out partying" (according to another guest) at around 6pm and left the hostel in charge of the other guests (therefore no-one to ask for clean bedlinen from). Terrible attitude from the receptionist later who told us that their hostel 'appears in all the guides' and therefore any dissatisfaction we had must be because we were not 'hostel people'. After having backpacked right through Latin America I can safely say we are.. we just expect a certain level of cleanliness and service. Like clean sheets.
This place might have been the best of a bad bunch in Puerto Varas at one time, but there are LOADS of nice new hostels in this town now (El Caminante round the corner looked decent). Lets hope the guidebooks catch on soon and stop giving this terrible place any business.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktinchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.2 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#17 of 27 in Puerto Varas
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Margouya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Margouya

Property: Casa Margouya
Address: Calle Santa Rosa 318, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers is downtown location , one block from the lake and main square.Second floor in a wooden house , style "spanish auberge", room around the commun room with share bathroom and a full equiped kitchen. We have a very good turism informations and sale outdoor activities.Wi-fi, books exchange,music, books, table games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Margouya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing