We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We discovered we were in the Mirador Colonos after we climbed up a very steep hill to get to the hotel which made its location awful unless you have a car. This not a patch on the other Colonos which sits on the lake shore. The hotel was very shabby and in need of a face lift/modernization. It seemed very very busy which meant that it was noisy, involved a dance to get breakfast and all those people had the one guy on Reception completely overwhelmed & unable to cope. We had booked a superior double room but were disappointed that the reality was small, without the advertised desk/seating area and no view of the lake. When we finally got a minute with Mr Reception he said that this was a fault with the Booking.Com listing who were misrepresenting the room facilities. Oh and if we put our head out of the window we would be able to see the lake perfectly! Bed was fairly comfortable, hot strong shower, wi-fi intermittent - they kept having to reboot the system, passably clean, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 393 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

WARNING: there are two hotels in Puerto Varas called Colonos del sur. this one "mirador-4 star" and the other "gran hotel-5star". Do not get them confused!

Hotel is basically furnished, no pictures, it needs a refurb.

Bed: comfy, but pillows need replacing. Bedcover was stained but solved this by removing it (too warm to need it)

Shower: not that strong but clean and worked. Had a shower curtain of a B&B

Soundproofing: extremely poor. I had a small baby as a neighbour and it was as if she was in the room.

Service: very good, no complaints.

Basically needs a refurb, nothing wrong with location or service and it just depends who your "neighbours" are as to how you will sleep.

Go for the Gran Hotel instead, I would not return to the mirador as felt soul-less and the poor soundproofing impacted my sleep patterns too much.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Rooms cramped and stuffy. It was impossible to get into bed from both sides. Noisy and sounds of running water as showers in adjacent rooms spring into action. The only saving grace were the charming helpful house maids.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting the key
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beggarall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A nice hotel with a great view of Lake Llanquihue. Hotel staff was very kind with my 2-year old daughter by heating her food during our stay, and always had a high chair ready for breakfast. We had a very good dinner at their restaurant for Valentine´s Day and it was not expensive. However, the people at the front desk gave us the same key that was already given to a young couple during the check-in. Gladly our key did not work and we didn´t encounter any embarrassment. Also, a couple of mattresses were kept on the hallway for a couple of days, which seems they had a storage problem. Maybe the rooms were a little over heated for the weather. Lastly, we were woken up by the cleaning lady that started using the vacuum at 8:30 am the last day we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Would I stay at this Hotel again---never.We were given a room on the 4th floor but found the elevator only went to the 3rd.As i have both breathing problems and walking problems this was obviously not going to work.The room had 2 twin beds but even after38 years my wife and I like to sleep together; To their credit a new room was found and we moved in only to find my carryon was missing.As it contained my computer,camera,and most importantly Meds this was verry worrying.Repeated calls to the desk achieved nothing.My Wife made 2 visits to the desk and on the second found it herself still sitting in the storage room..Breathing a sigh of relief I decided to relax by watching TV--it didn't work.Once again repeated calls to the desk achieved nothing.Decided to go to bed but not before requesting a wakeup call----it came but 40 minutes late.The room is totally bare,probably the only one I've been in that doesn't even have a picture on the wall.We still don't have TV and this for a room that was prepaid.Oh by the way excellent Wifi but if you bring your own computer better bring a desk to put it on because there isn't one in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We paid aroud 70 euros for a large double room (1 night) WITHOUT LAKE VIEW.Room was clean and of 3-4 star quality. Breakfast good and plentiful, with wide choice. We slept poorly - perhaps a combination of nerves (next day we flew home), some noise from adjoining rooms and the absence of air conditioning (it as hot during the day).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtriBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Sister hotel to the fancy 5 star Gran Hotel Colonos del Sur which is located at the coast of lake Llanquihue, this old wooden structure hotel is located on a hill about 5 blocks from the lake. I would rate this as a 3 star hotel.
The view from most rooms is superb. Rooms are small and rather basic. They include a mini fridge and a free safe. Walls are paper thin. Windows are double paneled and central heating worked well. So does the hot water. There is WiFi available in the rooms and a couple of computers in the lobby.
Breakfast is superb. Other meals are average.
Puerto Varas is a small pretty town, the downtown area is only a few minutes by foot from the hotel where some interesting tours can be purchased. It also has a good casino. A great place for afternoon tea is a place called Cassis, located right next to the other Colonos.
You should avoid going to the Colonos Mirador hotel during the month of December due to the fact that it receives large noisy groups of students on their study trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose-Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.4 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas

Address: La Paz 471, Puerto Varas, Chile (Formerly Colonos del Sur Mirador Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $87 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing