We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange but interesting”
Review of Museo Pablo Fierro

Museo Pablo Fierro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Strange but interesting”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

4* is probably a bit generous for what this is, but considering there is no charge, it is worth dropping in to see the crazy things they have here. Certainly a memorable place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmyur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    145
    56
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Be sure to try to have a chat with Pablo”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pablo is a very interesting and inspiring man to talk to.

The museum is a great place to spend an afternoon while you are at Puerto Varas.

I'll be honest, the museum was not very high on my list when I was in Puerto Varas. My wife and I sort of stumbled upon the place when we were on our way back to town from lunch at La Gringa (another awesome place to have a meal at) and were invited into the museum by Pablo.

The place is super quirky with lots of souvenirs and collectibles that can take you an entire day to go through.

Pictures of some of the displays can be seen on our blog:
http://twandjo.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/the-house-that-fierro-built/

But the best part of the visit was that Pablo took us around the house himself. It was truly inspiring listening to this man who had lived his life in the pursuit of the things he loves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
493 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A Wild Place”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is difficult to rate this little museum. As others have commented, it is indeed quirky. It is so jammed with objects that it's hard to find your way around, and I could not get much sense of the development of the town - which was in part because there were so many people at the time I visited. (The weather was terrible, and so indoor activities, which are quite limited outside of shopping, became a premium.) It was at a nice walk from the center of Puerto Varas, and I'd give it another try should I return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A small museum filled with artifacts and paintings from a local artist that has preserved and transformed a rather boring building into a fun, free place to visit if you are in Puerto Vargas. The paintings were very well done of the local scene and captured the feeling of the houses and building we saw as we drove around Llanguihue lake...pronounced Yankee Way Lake..located on the lakefront road just a short walk outside of the city center, it made for an interesting stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mari j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Puerto Varas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History buff? Do not miss this”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This museum is one of the best ways to learn about the German Colonization of the area. A wonderful collection of antiques in a family barn, all carefully placed to give a vision of the lives of the first settlers who came to Chile in the 1950^s,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Pablo Fierro also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Museo Pablo Fierro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing