We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compass del Sur
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been travelling for almost three months. I really liked this hostel. It has a really big kitchen, and room options varying from camping in the backyard to a double with an ensuite bathroom. We stayed in the latter.

As the guidebooks state there are travellers from all over the world of all ages (from children, to teens, to travellers in their 20's, 30's 40's 50's... Not a real party atmosphere but a great living room, and dining room for eating drinking and chatting.

And the kitchen is excellent. Large, well stocked. Even had a stock of spices. And the breakfast is good. Simple hot water, tea/instant coffee bread and ham and cheese, BUT good breads, and extras for a very reasonable cost (eggs, real coffee, muesli).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

They weren't lying about the Scandinavian flair. This hostel is almost like a Bed&Breakfast. The staff speak several languages and are very helpful, and you can do your laundry, camp and even use the kitchen after checking out. The hostel is impeccably clean and the rooms are cozy, though I can only speak of summer,I don't know how cold it gets in winter. The duvets were almost too warm for us. They can also do your laundry for you which is very useful for backpackers.

The downside is that the house really creaks a lot because it is made of wood, and also smells like that wax/polish they use to clean. Also, the breakfast is kind of boring with mostly bread, more bread, some fresh cake (good) and butter and jam. Ham and cheese is provided but we don't eat that and didn't get to exchange it for anything else. Coffee is only instant and real coffee or any other food needs to be paid extra for. Also breakfast and check out times are a bit early for my taste but at least they allow us to hang out and even cook after checkout. I would still recommend this hostel, the location is also great and it's a pretty house.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I really love this hostel, and miss it now that I'm somewhere else.

The staff are lovely and multilingual and the hostel could not BE any cleaner.

There are wood burning stoves on each level of the house and very warm, soft sheets and feather duvets on the beds.

We alternated sleeping in the dorms and camping. There is room for 3-5 tents out back, depending on the size.

The kitchen is awesome, and has everything you can possibly need plus two fridges available for travelers. Breakfast is the usual, with instant coffee, butter and jam, cheese and ham but it's taken to the next level with the home-made bread. You can also purchase extras like eggs and porridge.

Wifi was good most of the time, with an occasional hiccough along the way. What I like about the dorms is each bed has it's own little light, so you can have your light on but not bother other people by putting on the big light. I found it to be a very quiet, restful place, while also having a level of sociableness.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is an old house made ​​of wood, without heating the rooms. The floor creaks so you can not fall asleep until the last guest goes to bed. We suffered from the cold and the next day we moved to another hotel, price difference is not big. Simple breakfast, you have to pay extra for coffee, eggs, or cereal. We paid $ 35 to the hotel for airport pick-up. It seems to be more the norm. Hotel suitable for low budget backpackers. the hotel is not in town center and you have to walk uphill.

Room Tip: If you can spend a few extra dollars go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and had a fantastic time.
Staff are multi-lingual, friendly and clearly highly knowledgable about the surrounding areas.
They even organised car-hire for us for no extra charge.
Beds are very comfy and the bathrooms are of quite a high standard compared to other hostels.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewithers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is definitely the prettiest hostel I've ever stayed in. Nestled on a residential street just outside of the downtown, it's the perfect distance from the lake with none of the downsides of sleeping in a city. The house itself is charming and old-fashioned, and the owners are incredibly sweet and eager to help. Nothing short of fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Absolutely lovely, great stuff, talking german as well. They are giving good advices and help wherever they an, even with rental cars. The house is lovely, the common kitchen has this oldscool flair. Its great to cook there. Ouside they have as well space for camping. So the people are really mixed up this gives a great atmosphere. We spent much more time there as expected. :) Thanks again for everything. Best regards Roger

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
1.6 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#14 of 27 in Puerto Varas
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Kalfu
Casa Kalfu
#9 of 27 in Puerto Varas
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabanas y Piscina Rucamalen
Cabanas y Piscina Rucamalen
#23 of 27 in Puerto Varas
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass del Sur

Address: Klenner 467, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $41 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Compass del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing