We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel, simply, clean, good price, friendly owner, tours are available.”
Review of Compass del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Compass del Sur
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you want a quiet place, unexpensive, and in a family house, with a chilean family, this is the palce for you. is a hostel clean, small and modest rooms, a friendly owner.
The breakfast can be small for a big guy but was enought for start the day.
The best thing for me was the tours. You can ask for a personal tour with the owner in his car to Frutillar, Puerto Octay, Perez orsales park, petrohué falls and other beautiful places around Puerto Varas.

Room Tip: Second or third floor at street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days. We paid 27,000 per night and had hoped for a little something extra for our money. We felt like we were being squeezed for every extra penny they could get out of us.

-Very noisy: the second night there was a party downstairs untill 1.30 am that the staff were involved in. There is a hostel guitar so if you are there with a guitar player you are in trouble. Had my ear plugs in on the first floor and could hear everything (we were in room 4 right above lounge). I asked if we could change rooms for the next night but nothing available. The next night however things quietened down just after midnight.

-The staff ar nice young german girls but obviously they are there for a good time and not to tell people to be quiet.

-Often had to wait for the bathroom. The bathroom downstairs is in a terrible state.

-Campers in the garden mean many people using the facilities.

-Paying extra for breakfast is a crazy system, i would expect a real coffee for $60/night! Its an extra 700 pesos for coffee, 800 for museli, 700 for juice, and 800 for eggs i think.

-Poor information - we went on a 70k bike ride (to frutilla) on the back of their weather forecast and it rained the whole day, it was actually pretty scary at somepoints. Our fault too i think we should have checked online. Bikes were 10,000 each a day, and very good, seems a standard price for puerto varas. We were also told this bikeride was 40ks. There is actually an altitude gain of 2600feet. Make sure you are fit!

-Kitchen big but quite old equipment.

-When we checked out we were presented for a bill for 30,000 a night, we had to ask for the discounted bill (10% off if 3 nights and paying by cash). Also if you want to pay by card they convert to dollars first so pretty much only worth paying in cash.

-When we arrived at 9.30 am they were going to charge us for an extra breakfast - we have never had this before - most places just let you have some bread and jam!

-Washing was 6500 for a load up to 7kg, but this was the only option for washing.

Having said all that....
Our room was actually lovely and big, and the building is traditional and pretty. The wifi was great. Bed very comfortable and a lovely duvet!

Room Tip: I heard the top floor rooms were nice. They will also be further from the lounge so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hostel has comfortable rooms and plenty of charm. But to me there are many drawbacks. Long waits for the bathrooms, faulty lockers (mine had a huge gap at the back!), useless garden (serves as a parking lot/campground), expensive extras (examples: almost 1.5 euros for real coffee at breakfast; 10 euros for a load of laundry), faulty information (I was told about a walk in the national park only to discover that it was along a busy, dusty road) : the list is long.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Compass del Sur is up on a hill (close to centre of town) so it can be a trek if your luggage/backpack is heavy. You can either walk up a set of steps or walk up the inclined roadway. I came from Chiloe through Puerto Montt with Cruz del Sur bus and got dropped off at the edge of town so I had to take a taxi.

The staff are and tries to be helpful and are very friendly.

Ho.La discount was not recognized, as they say it's a mistake to be mentioned in the 10% off advert.

Room #7 was clean and tidy, it's on the 3rd floor with reduced head room but with a skylight (see photo). Be careful with your fingers when you attempt to open and close the skylight.

2nd floor have 2 different bathrooms (one with shower stall, another with bathtub - both are spacious)
3rd floor have 1 new bathroom with shower stall - also spacious
All the water heaters are located on the 3rd floor - visible in the common area
3rd floor common area is equipped with motion sensored lights - great for going to the shared bathroom, however room #9 (dorm room) has a translucent door. So if you're light sensitive you may have an issue.

Breakfast was included with my room; 4 pieces of bread, 2 small slices of ham, 2 small slices of cheese + your choice of tea/coffee, butter + marmalade... Other breakfast items are offered for extra charge

Tours offered by Hostel is more expensive than tour companies but done as a private tour.
I traveled to Frutillar, Petrohue, Ensenada, Termas de Ralun, and Alerce Andino National Park by local bus on my own. It's a lot cheaper than the tours, although it's hard to visit as many places as the tours in one day with local buses. Be aware of bus times!!! Last bus from Frutillar and Petrohue back to Puerto Varas can be as early as 8pm and 6:30pm, respectively.

One this that's bad about Puerto Varas, there is not a central bus terminal like Puerto Montt or many other Chilean town/city. Each bus company has their own terminal scattered around the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleWomanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ok, so to start with, this IS generally a reasonable hostel in an old interesting building. Communal areas nice and clean. Breakfast small portion and basic.

Unfortunately our experience as marred by the general rip off attitude of the management:
- Despite being members of the Ho.La hostel network we were told that not all Ho.La hostels offer a discount - including theirs. We later learnt that this was a lie.
- All private rooms are stated to be the same price, even though some are TINY (i.e. the standard price for a large spacious double is quoted as the same as a box room with no windows and reduced headroom) - we questioned the logic but were told 'that is what management have decided'. We did manage to negotiate a discount in the end, but this was not standard (and only because the dorm beds we had booked turned out to not be available). Make sure you check the room size before agreeing to pay top dollar!
- Tours to nearby attractions are DOUBLE the price of booking them elsewhere and WAY more than doing it yourself.

Oh, and it's at the top of a hill = nice view but a real trek with luggage.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I arrived in puerto Varas with the idea of staying 2 days and ended up staying 6. Partly because the weather was not very good when I arrived but mainly due to the fact that Compass del Sur was such a nice hostel. The dorm is big and the bed is extremely comfortable, the breakfast is free and very good, internet is also free and very reliable, but the main things for me were that the kitchen was cleand and well equipped so it was nice to be able to cook in the evening and enjoy a drink by the wood fire in the living room.
When I finally could drag myself away from the cosy fires and bed I headed down to the lakes, Frutillar, Petrohue and Puerto Octay. The hostel is perfectly placed to head off to visit each of these places and the town itself.
This is somewhere I would definitely go back to - especially as a stopping point before heading on south to Patagonia

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Segoviano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is an excellent choice, but book in advance. It is spacious, has lots of communal space and the rooms are large and clean. It has a certain charm, the chill out area was very comfortable and there are fires lit and the kitchen is well equiped and large. The breakfasts were basic however. Would recommend this!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
1.6 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#15 of 27 in Puerto Varas
213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Borde Lago
Hotel Borde Lago
#18 of 27 in Puerto Varas
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Greco
Hotel El Greco
#19 of 27 in Puerto Varas
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Kalfu
Casa Kalfu
#11 of 27 in Puerto Varas
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass del Sur

Address: Klenner 467, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $40 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Compass del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing