We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room but up and down in service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Göteborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great room but up and down in service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is actually great even if it is so big. Usually I think smaller are better. But the rooms are spacious and clean. The only thing why they do not get five is that we got a piece of crap car to the airport. It was about to fall apart. In Chile we have got good cars all the time. So when a hotel like this gives you a car that you don't know if you will come to your desination, is weird. When trying to talk to the receptionist, he just didn't care. So the whole situation was bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    224
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
155
250
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved this hotel. Front desk was warm and helpful. Servers at the bar could not have been nicer. Drinks were fairly priced. Our room was comfortable and it was the only hotel that we stayed in that had washcloths! The hotel is situated perfectly and close to everything. Breakfast was as good an any we had in Chile and Argentina. You will no go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
456 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This facility is located right on the Lake. Many rooms have outstanding views of the lake and Volcan Osorno(if its visible). There is easy accessibility to the rest of Puerto Varas. The hotel has excellent rooms and facilities. The breakfast is excellent as are other meals served. The staff is efficient and friendly. We would consider this the place to stay in the area and would happily return when again in Puerto Varas.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

A really beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Comfortable rooms and fabulous lobby area to hang out with friends. Though I did not make use of most of the amenities, they looked wonderful. The breakfast in the morning was top drawer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are rooms that offer a view of the volcanco (not sure if they go for a premium - but you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Gran Hotel Colones del Sur and we really enjoyed the stay. The room was very comfortable, the bed and pillows were great (only time we encountered nice down pillows in a month in Chile) and the view was spectacular. The service was professional, and we loved their breakfast. Lots of choices from great fruit (the strawberries on the first morning were terrific), cereal, whole-meal bread, scrambled eggs, cold meat and cheese, and excellent pastry baked goods, and (semi) real coffee. The staff was friendly and helpful and parking was free. Their rates were pretty steep on their website and at the desk, but discounts are widely available. We used booking.com and paid about 60% of the hotel website rates--could have gotten a larger discount with pre-pay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are more expensive, but no chairs to sit and admire the view, so I would say not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The location of this lakeside hotel is just stunning with views of Osorno volcano in the distance. we were lucky to experience 3 glorious days of weather, which is apparently quite unusual in this part of Chile. The staff are friendly and the rooms good They just didn't seem to get breakfast. It was limited choice and help yourself to coffee, just 1 waiter for the whole restaurant. The 1 evening meal we had there was a terrible disappointment. It was lamb shank which was tough as old boots. About 8 of the shanks out of the 32 ordered by our party were inedible, the rest, really tasty apparently. But it was our end of tour dinner, so we were unable to complain due to speeches etc. If they get the food right, it will be a joy and I would go back.

Room Tip: Have 1 overlooking the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoburyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. I had to visit Puerto Varas on a business trip and had never been there. The room was very spacious and had a great view of the lake and the volcanoes. The breakfast was good.
We had dinner inside the hotel one night and it was great.
Friendly staff and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#3 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas

Property: Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Address: Del Salvador 24, Puerto Varas, Chile (Formerly Gran Hotel Colonos del Sur)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Varas
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing