We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but busy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after a trip to Torres del Paine. Our room was spacious and comfortable with lovely views of the lake and Volcán Calbuco. The hotel has some geo thermal system for heating the water which could have been hotter.
The restaurant was good as was the breakfast. The only drawback we found was that the hotel does cater for a lot of coach tours and sometimes it is so crowded it is impossible to find a seat in the restaurant. On our first morning we had to eat our breakfast standing up until a table became available

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. The Hotel has a wonderful views as well as a complete infrastructure according to the beautiful landscapes and nature. Regarding your comments about the restaurant service, we anticipate this kind of situations, as we count with three restaurant: Mirador del Lago, Comerdor Phillippi and Aylén 75, the three facing lake and the volcanoes, the three with an amazing view and the three are together, so it is not complicated for us - when the Hotel is full - to offer 2 buffet to attend 250 people at the same time. We are so sorry with your experience, for sure we have to improve giving the correct information.
We thank you again, have a wonderful time and we hope to have your visit in the future.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and our room had a great view of the lake and the mountain - the room was spacious even though it was triple room. The beds were comfortable and it was easy reach to the town - the breakfast was average. We did not have dinner at the hotel but tried couple of restaurants in town which were great. The hotel has a very warm feel to it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments. The hotel is very good located so our guests have the best view of the city bay, Llanquihue Lake and the volcanoes. We are very pleased that we achieve your expectations and you enjoy your stay with us, our services and attention. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here during a trip to the Lake Region in Chile. The hotel is great, with good ambience, and very well located to reach Puerto Varas downtown.

Breakfast was very good ... and we stayed at the Suites del Lago, that were located in a separate building ... it was perfect to be with our little son ...

Totally recommended!

Room Tip: The suites located in the building separated from the hotel are really quiet at nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest: We are very happy that your stay was so pleasant. Club del Lago was opened last December and it is a totally new concept in Puerto Varas - modular spaces inspired by the architecture of the old houses of field, decorated with recycled wood shingles and old sheds, which can be tailored according to the requirements of our guests, ideal for families. We hope that you come back soon.

Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with my family in September. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with great views to the lake and volcano. The room was clean and very comfortable, with 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and lounge area which came in handy for the kids. Breakfast at the restaurant was included and we thoroughly enjoyed the variety and quality of the buffet breakfast. We were able to borrow bikes from the hotel and ride into town along the lake side. All staff were very friendly and helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellievasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your recommendations, we are very happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud because Club del Lago is a new concept in Puerto Varas, in general people really like it. Club del Lago is located just behind the Hotel, departments have 85square meters and can accommodate up to 6 people, equipped with full electric kitchenette, wi fi and cable TV, with separate space with a dining room area and comfortable living room are perfect for sharing with family or friends. We work daily with the concept to offer a warm and friendly service.
As a team of Hotel Cabaña del Lago and Club del Lago thank you again.

Greetings from the City of Roses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on our trip through the south of Chile. The room was great, and even better was the restaurant at the hotel. Service was top notch, and the food was excellent, not to mention a great wine list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powrider686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a five week tour of South America this was our last stop before returning to Australia and what a lovely hotel to stay at with views across the lake to the volcanoes and over the township of Puerto Varas with its german design buildings. The hotel has a nice relaxed feel about it with friendly staff nice food served for dinner and breakfast. Rooms are well set out and beds comfortable. You can walk outside and you are on the water front and a short walk to the township. We recommend this hotel if staying in Puerto Varas.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok but as the hotel is built along a hill there is a lot of walking from reception to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

In my opinion, a very average hotel that caters mostly for tour groups. The rooms are spacious but a bit dated with old-fashioned bathrooms. The showers were tepid and despite having reported the problem, they couldn't fix it. Even though we had a non-smoking room, one could smell the smoke from the adjacent rooms. The best aspect of this hotel is the amazing views that it has, especially from the dining room. Breakfast was very decent with adequate variety and reasonable service. A very standard but consistent offering representing reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Director General at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, indeed the hotel is recognized for having the best view of the city, Lake and Volcano, which you can enjoy as a couple, family or groups in our three different categories of rooms. We appreciate also your comments about smokers - this because in Chile exists a law about this matter but has being difficult that all guests respect it. Regarding the shower issue we will review our procedures. We regret not having met your total satisfaction.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a next future.
Greetings from the City of Roses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#8 of 27 in Puerto Varas
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#14 of 27 in Puerto Varas
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana del Lago

Address: Luis Wellmann, Puerto Varas 5550447, Chile (Formerly Cabana del Lago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Varas
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $106 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabana del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabana del Lago is the biggest property in Puerto Varas with 10.000 sq mts. with an exceptional location and infrastructure in a warm, rustic, mountain style an ideal place to enjoy the South, and its wonderful natural surroundings. In fact, it is placed in front of Llanquihue Lake bay, bringing the guests the opportunity to enjoy a panoramic view of the lake and volcanoes. In the heart of nature, the hotel becomes a dream place for contemplating and resting. It has the most complete offer of services: spa, heated pool, sauna, steam, gym and full activities such as bicycles, pool table, kids spaces, and just behind a park and canopy. The Restaurants are the perfect place to taste the typical flavours of the region.Hotel Cabaña del Lago has 157 warm and comfortable rooms, garnished with recycled woods typical from the south of Chile and equipped with all the comfort needed for having an unforgettable experience with your couple, family or friends. All rooms have an impressive view to Llanquihue Lake and volcanoes. They also are divided in three categories standard, superior and Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cabana del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Cabanas Del Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing