We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dowdy and Inattentive Untrained Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dowdy and Inattentive Untrained Service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is just ok. The views were superior, the rooms are not refurbished, lacking bathroom fixtures like towel racks. The location is well positioned relative to the town. Ice seemed to be a rare commodity in this hotel, as was other modern conveniences. I was forced to speak to the Manager to explain the surly & unhelpful service of the front desk & wait staff in the hotel. The doormen stand there, not opening doors. The front desk staff are trainees at best, and cannot answer the simplest of questions. This hotel is more of a package type of deal pretending to be upscale, and a Holiday Inn experience at best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor W, Gerente at Hotel Cabana del Lago, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

Your comments are highly appreciated and we are very sorry for the situation happened during your stay in our property. Our Hotel is distinguished by an excellent service and we are concerned that we have not fulfilled your expectations.

We are working in a complete investigation, in order to have more information about your case and we will take all necessary measures to avoid situations like this.

We appreciate again your comments which will allow us to improve and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in a future.

kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    561
    142
    38
    15
See reviews for
477
825
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here in early October for only 2 short days and loved everything about it. The rooms were modest, very clean and neat, comfortable beds, and the view of lake with the volcano in the distance was spectacular. Lot's of great restaurants, chocolate shops and retail shops about 5-10 minutes walking distance. This is also a certified "green" hotel with potable water from the lakes. Hotel has very nice lounge with a log cabin feel. Lots of natural wood carvings, painting, just very pretty. Great indoor pool too with an outdoor deck. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great room, amazing view of volcano and lake and good location. Really liked staying here. Can walk round lake to get to main square. Wifi available throughout though a little patchy at times. Breakfast was a feast!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MG1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two days in December. It was a little rainy in Chile this year,so it was nice to spend a couple of days in a property that allowed us to walk around to a lot of venues inside.all of the staff were very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The price of the room was a good bargain. The breakfast was fine.the hotel is located within a 5-10 minute walk to the downtown action and restaurants.all and all a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here for three nights as a package deal. From the moment I entered the premise I could immediately feel that the staff were there to help and that my stay was important to them. Some of the staff spoke English, and all were friendly and accommodating. The view was fantastic, but a short walk into town. My driver recommended that if you visit the town/casino at night from here, it's safer to take a cab. This is a great place to base yourself while you're enjoying all the variety of tours tat southern Chile has to offer. Only negatives I would note were minor: The wifi was intermittent and slow, and the shower always tended to leak a little out onto the tiled floor in the bathroom, no matter how I arranged the shower curtain. This could easily be rectified with a glass divider or a double layer curtain. That being said, the pool and gym were good. The restaurant had a good range of reasonably priced meals (try asking for the bar menu if you want something lighter, the sandwiches were fantastic). The breakfast was an excellent way to start your day of adventure - if you couldn't find something you liked you'd be someone who's very difficult to please. Would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Loved our stay, the rooms are big with lake views.
Staff very helpful, even for English speaking clients
Would recommend to anyone
Close to all amenities in Puerto Varas! Great views of the lake & volcano

Room Tip: Book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely hotel with lots of wood everywhere. View took our breath away when we opened the bedroom door for the first time! The food and service were excellent as were the other facilities. Lovely view across the lake from the bar as well as the dining room. WiFi was free and a good speed. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazer207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana del Lago

Property: Hotel Cabana del Lago
Address: Luis Wellmann 195, Puerto Varas 5550447, Chile (Formerly Cabana del Lago Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Varas
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cabana del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabana del Lago is the biggest property in Puerto Varas with 10.000 sq mts. with an exceptional location and infrastructure in a warm, rustic, mountain style an ideal place to enjoy the South, and its wonderful natural surroundings. In fact, it is placed in front of Llanquihue Lake bay, bringing the guests the opportunity to enjoy a panoramic view of the lake and volcanoes. In the heart of nature, the hotel becomes a dream place for contemplating and resting. It has the most complete offer of services: spa, heated pool, sauna, steam, gym and full activities such as bicycles, pool table, kids spaces, and just behind a park and canopy. The Restaurants are the perfect place to taste the typical flavours of the region.Hotel Cabaña del Lago has 157 warm and comfortable rooms, garnished with recycled woods typical from the south of Chile and equipped with all the comfort needed for having an unforgettable experience with your couple, family or friends. All rooms have an impressive view to Llanquihue Lake and volcanoes. They also are divided in three categories standard, superior and Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cabana del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Cabanas Del Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing