We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabin, away from the crowds, with amazing views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 43 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of Javiera's cabins for 3 nights just before Christmas, and loved it! The cabins are spacious, the wood burning stove heats up the space in minutes, the kitchen is well equipped, and the breakfast delicious. Being greeted by very snuggly dogs every day was an added bonus. The view is stunning, even when the volcano is under cloud, and the beach picturesque even when the weather is not so good. We were so glad to escape from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Varas, and here you felt as if you were in the middle of nowhere, which is exactly what we wanted. It's a perfect base for touring the Lake District, with plenty of room to spread out your belongings and if neccessary dry them (we had wet weather), and a good hot shower. Forget the hotels in town, stay here and shop in the local Lider for food!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshRarebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Javiera was a most pleasant hostess and attended to us in a most gracious manner. Her cabins were perfectly located for discovering the Chilean Lake District with views of the volcanoes surrounding the lake were wonderful. Her breakfasts were FANTASTIC!!.

Room Tip: Contact Javiera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This cabanas are really at a nice place, directly next to the lake. You can see the volcano Osorno out of your bedroom. The people there where more than kind, and provided us lots of information about the surrounding.

The cabanas are not in the centre of puerto varas, in my opinion another advantage to enjoy the nature. All in all a perfect stay.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a truly beautiful set of cabins just outside Puerto Varas, with an exquisite view of the volcano and lake, plus beach access! The owner is young, lovely and charming and serves an amazing home made breakfast. Despite their rustic and otherworldly look, the cabins have internet, a kitchen etc. and are a really comfortable and practical place to stay. I would recommend this to absolutely anyone traveling around the south of chile in any season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soph p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tankgirl_j, Owner at Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much!!! we just added chickens to our family so now we have our own fresh happy eggs, and are currently working on the vegetable garden, i really hope we meet again as it was such a pleasure meeting you! all best,
Javiera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We didn't really know what to expect here, but this cabin was a pleasant surprise. The location on the beach of the lake with a view of the volcano is fabulous, and unlike many of the cabin lodgings in the area, this one is not surrounded by 10 other identical cabins! Just two of them in a big field, with a private path down to the beach -- couldn't be more peaceful. The breakfast was very yummy, and Javiera was very friendly. Our only wish would be to have internet access in the cabin, since we had to figure out where we were heading next and we didn't want to disturb our hosts too much in their house to use the internet! (But I guess this isn't a problem in the summer when sitting outside is easier.) Puerto Varas is very close, but you won't even want to go once you are settled in to your cabin. Oh, and we'd love to know where to buy supplies at the local farms like the ones we had for breakfast -- our dinners would have been much better!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tankgirl_j, Owner at Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you Kim so much for your kind words, I'm so glad you liked our little B&B!
you never bother us, all the opposite! though we got finally installed Wi-fi in each cabaña, so next time you can enjoy a good connection by your fireplace. hope you are doing great with the beautifull Isis! All the best,
Javiera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Javiera and her brother have created a tiny paradise for adventuresome travelers to Southern Chile. The large property has a rural feeling but is just a few minutes east of Puerto Varas, on the main road. Easy access by car, taxi or bus. The two rental cabins sit above the gigantic lake, itself in an eons old caldera ringed by gigantic volcanoes and beautiful hills. It is an easy walk down a shaded but steep trail to the lake itself. There you can walk forever along the sandy, pebbled shore.
The cabins are rustic, but have every amenity including kitchen, dining room, living room, bath with shower and two bedrooms. Javiera's breakfasts are completely homemade, frequently with local foods, honey, bread and jam. The region is pastoral, surrounded by very, very large volcanoes that are still capped with snow in summer. Puerto Varas is a short distance from Puerto Montt, which is the gateway to Chiloe and eventually, Patagonia. It is a charming town, busy in summer, with lots going on in the main square and surrounds. But we enjoyed staying at Bordemundo, where I counted two dozen species of nesting or resident birds, saw many butterflies and wildflowers, and enjoyed sunrise and sunset on the lake and illuminating the volcano to the east.

Room Tip: There are just two cabins. Same floor plan, each, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tankgirl_j, Owner at Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

It was really interesting having a bird watcher and to know more about the species living here, glad you could appreciate all the beautifull nature here! I enjoyed our "bird conversations".
Best! Javiera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Delightful Patagonia Cabana, minutes from Puerto Varas, situated on over 4 acres on a bluff overlooking the Lake with views of Volcan Orsono, and with beach trail to a quiet bay on the lake. Our hostess Javiera prepared a wonderful home made breakfast. Organic coffee, farm eggs, homemade bread and jam and more, prepared with love. Naturally beautiful, this place is a peaceful haven to return to at the end of a day exploring the Lakes District in Chile. Thank you to Javiera and Mikal.

Room Tip: Higly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JodyP662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tankgirl_j, Owner at Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Jody, you were such amazing guests, you made our day.
really hope i see you again, hopefully for a jam session! all the best for you and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,909 reviews
2.5 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
602 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
828 reviews
1.7 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas

Address: Camino a Ensenada, km 3, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $78 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We rent cabanas on the shoreline of Llanquihue lake, with access to our private beach. Huge windows offer wonderful views on four volcanoes and the lake. We provide a huge breakfast, including products of our organic farming. You are welcome to explore incredible outdoor spots on our estate and taste the crystal clear water from our own fount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bordemundo B&B y Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing