We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'must' in Puerto Varas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Casavaldes

Restaurant Casavaldes
Ranked #5 of 139 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Pau, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A 'must' in Puerto Varas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you like fish don't miss this restaurant! Fabulous views over lake, large tables set well apart, a fish menu to die for - the king crab was out of this world! Don't miss the local salmon either. Excellent wine list, impeccable service - just an all-round first-class restaurant. Added bonus for my companion was that the charming owner is a big rugby union fan!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank seel_peta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for share your good experience at Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    336
    76
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Perfect Lunch..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I accidently came upon this place while driving around the beautiful lake next to the volcanoes in Puerto Varas. It has waterfront views, linen tableclothes, free wifi and english menu available (sit next to entry door for best wifi). It sits at the western end of the lake road in Puerto Varas called santa rosa. We had rented a car for the day while in port of Puerto Montt on a cruise ship stop. It's accros from a tourist pirate ship and kayak/canoe rental kiosk.

We found the staff to be very friendly and one waitress seemed excited to practice her english.

Ok, now to the good stuff.. They have the Best Ceviche and Best Risotto we have ever had! And the portions are big enough to share each for the perfect lunch. The ceviche has mixed fish of Salmon, shrimp, scallop and squid and wonderful spices with plenty of lime juice to soak up your bread in. The seafood Risotto was another lucky find that melts in your mouth with a mix of nice size chunks of shrimp, scallop and other seafood. It was the best lunch we had for 2 weeks, on or off the Cruise Ship! These two dishes combined won't run you over $25, not including wine of course.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Florida50Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por compartir sus buena experiencia en Casavaldés.
Saludos cordiales,

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WHy the good reviews?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went to this restaurant because it had been a long day and a romantic dinner sounded better than the great German food in town. I ordered wine and had the only bad bottle of red wine that I have had in Chile in over a year. I took one sip and refused the bottle. The server [who ended every phrase with perfecto] let me know that with a little air it would be smooth. "Perfecto" became our inside joke for the remaining 2 weeks in the south. The fish, which had been exceptional in all other restaurants took on the flavor of the salsa and had no flavor of its own.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank memphiswotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very for share your comments about Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“One of the best fish restaurants I have ever experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I were recommended to go to this restaurant by our very knowledgeable local guide. He gave us good advice, to be sure! Our experience was fantastic. First the location is wonderful, right on the Puerto Varas waterfront, with a nice view over the boats in the colorful harbor. The ambiance of the restaurant itself is quite nice, and the service was impeccable. We shared a salad, large orders of raw oysters and sea urchins as appetizers, and as a main course, the giant Chilean King (or Spider) Crab. Everything was absolutely wonderful, first rate, and some of the best seafood we've ever had. No apologies, but we are well traveled and come from San Francisco California, so we've had some pretty good sea food and wine. Casa Valdes, in tiny Puerto Varas, is as good as most of the best places of this kind we've eaten. The service, the delicious Chilean sauvignon blanc wine, and the delicious mariscos (shell fish and seafood) were all absolutely first rate. Especially the crab!! That alone is worth the visit. Highest possible recommendation!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for share your comments about Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“'Mr John'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We found this restaurant the first night we arrived in Puerto Varas and we had to wait for a table for about 10 mins. Be assured it was well worth the wait. The waiter helped with our menu and wine choices due to our lack of Spanish. Excellent choices we had Salmon TarTar and Squid then Southern Brea and Golden Conga Eel with chips and salad. The food was so good that we went a second time on our third and last evening after having a terrible meal somewhere else in the town on our 2nd evening. This time having Ceviche and Octopus in Black Ink then Atlantic Salmon & Hake with Spicy Mash Potato and Salad, again all cooked perfectly.
The owner was a lovely man too who happened to love Rugby like my husband, John, and chatted for a while on both evenings. Trust us if you like fish and want excellent, efficient, friendly service and value for money too then make sure that this restaurant is on your 'must do list in Puerto Varas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Restaurant Casavaldes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Pauline, thank you very much for share your nice comments about Casavaldés. Please my best rtgards for you and John, my rugby partner.

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Casavaldes also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Restaurant Casavaldes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing