We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Orsono Glacier Trek

We spent 5 days in Puerto Varas and wanted to trek to the glacier on Orsono From the first initial... read more

Reviewed January 21, 2019
Jim K
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Glacier Hike on Osorno Volcano! Most Memorable Experience

Over the years, I feel blessed to have experienced many activities around the world. Hiking the... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
Guru614
,
columbus
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Varas
from $47.46
More Info
from $46.00
More Info
from $64.42
More Info
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
70
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jose miguel volcano osorno incredible views few hours chilli hae mountaineering falco crampons summit climb ascent harness pace crevasses gear company
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 72 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic trip up Volcan Orsorno with Huella Andina Expeditions. Jose was very responsive to emails which made trip planning very easy. The climb itself was incredible, a highlight of our holiday. The five of us were divided amongst three guides for the roped ascent. Our personal guide Falco was very helpful and taught us all we needed to know.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank lucy--m--review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

My friend and recently had an awesome trip to Volcano Osorno with Jose, Falco and Migue! From start to finish the trip was extremely well organized ,safe with high quality rental equipment.

Incredible views await those brave enough to take on the challenge of Volcano Osorno!!! Very friendly bilingual guides, great food and a super cosy ski lodge come with the package... A trip with Huella Andina is not to be missed!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Wow, this was definitely the highlight of our trip to Chile!

We chose Huella Andina Expeditions after reading all the good reviews and they certainly lived up to expectations.

Jose was our guide and we felt very comfortable with his expert mountaineering knowledge to get us successfully to the summit and back, alive.(Which he did!)

The day started with Jose picking us up from the city Osorno and driving us up to the Refugio; the Teski Club.

We were able to get acquainted and Jose was able assess our abilities and experience to help determine what equipment we may need and the pace and route we would take up the Volcano.

Jose was delightful, he was able to answer all of our questions and made us feel comfortable with what to expect when we wake for breakfast at 4.15am the next day.

The Teski club had very friendly staff, it was warm and rustic with great food and wine.

The next morning we had a great breakfast and started our accent at 5am, it was was still dark so we had our head torches ready.

We reached a small hut where we put on our harness and had a quick snack ready for the start of the glacier.

We continued our trek until we reached the glacier where we put on our crampons and roped up. The views were spectacular.

A few hours later and we were scaling the ice ridge around the summit. Jose scaled it first and anchored himself whilst we both navigated the sharply inclined ice wall.

We both felt very confident with Jose there to guide us in the best route and foot holds to get up.

Finally we had reached the top! The views were unlike anything we had seen before and the feeling that we had worked so hard to reach the summit made them even better! It was a clear day and you could see the valleys, lakes, rivers and distant mountains and Volcano's across the Andes and into Argentina. At the top of Osorno Volcano you felt like you were at the highest point you could be.

I would highly recommend Huella Andina Expeditions. It is very important you have a good well qualified guide especially when you are navigating glaciers with deep crevasses as your life is in there hands.

With Jose you will feel comfortable all of the way.

I am English and my wife is Chilean and Jose was great to chat to, his English was perfect and he was able to chat to us both in Spanish and English.

Thank you Jose and your partner for making our summit of Osorno such a memorable experience!

Peter and Odette

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank C963CGpeterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We were in Puerto Varas for 3 days in October and we previously disappointed by not being able to climb Villarica in Pucon due to weather. The weather was looking good for a climb of Osorno or Calbulco so emailed Jose Miguel the day prior and he was more than happy to help. He came by our hotel in Puerto Varas when we arrived to discuss the climbing options of the following day and we decided on Osorno. We didn't have all of our own equipment and Jose Miguel was happy to help out for both my wife and I. On the climb he was extremely helpful. Highly recommended if you are in Puerto Varas for a few days and can wait around until the weather gets good for climbing. Climbing was not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for in this instance!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Dane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017

In October 2014, I engaged Jose Miguel to climb Calbuco. I was in Puerto Veras for only a short time, thus my options for which day to climb was limited. The day I could go was poor weather, but we tried to climb anyways. We had to turn around at 1700 m, unfortunately. Six months later, Calbuco erupted and changed the landscape. I returned to the area in November 2016 and again engaged Jose Miguel to climb the volcano. This time the weather was perfect. The new volcanic crater was still steaming and warm to the touch. The changes to the landscape were amazing. Lapilli which fell from the sky during the eruption covered everything. Such a great awe inspiring experience.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews