We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Germany all over again”
Review of Club Aleman

Club Aleman
Ranked #37 of 146 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
644 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 854 helpful votes
“Germany all over again”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived here with three busloads of tourists for a catered event. I was somewhat skeptical about having a German lunch in South America but was not disappointed. This German social club serves up authentic German cuisine which was very good. Service was excellent and they hustled out over 100 full meals in a short period of time.
Many Germans settled here in the 19th Century and later, and the architecture in the area shows it. There is a German school as well as several German clubs and restaurants.
We had kaessler pork chops with sourkraut and potatoes and finished it off with apfel stuedel.

I would go back here again to enjoy a nice German dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    83
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calbin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good German food”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you are looking for a place to get some good German food than this is the place. We really enjoyed our meals! The service was efficient but not super friendly. We'd definitely go back for the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank calbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The food was uninspired and not terribly flavorful, though the waitstaff friendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well, if you must...”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Average food and ok if you don't mind the typical german hump-pa-pa music in the background that never stops.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hungrydogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and plenty of it!! Great service.”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Excellent German home-cooking meals, wide beer on tap and bottled. Their bratwurst or einsbein are just like my grandmother used to make. Great Food!!! Great Atmosphere!!! Great Service!!! Great People working there!!! What more needs to be said!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BavariaBrasil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Aleman also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Club Aleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing