We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden, Tiny, fabulous!”
Review of Donde el Gordito

Donde el Gordito
Ranked #19 of 146 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden, Tiny, fabulous!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our tour guide recommended El Gordito and I had the best salmon of my life there. It was 'El Gordito' style with shrimp, and enough salmon for 2 or 3. It included a choice of rice or potatoes. I tried the rice, which was fine. The pisco sour was also terrific. I especially liked the crispy crust of the salmon and the fact that it was not half raw, as it often is in the states. My husband had the conger eel with shrimp and liked it as well. He was especially impressed with the sauce. It does not have an impressive look, tucked away behind an auto service place, and a total of 8 tables, but service was friendly and fast, the food was good, and prices reasonable ($46 for 2 dinners, 2 pisco sours, and 1 water).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    165
    77
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant in the town”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Looks not attractive from outside, but food is delicious!!! The best seafood restaurant in the town. Try "salmon and crab"!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarjaVolovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Brasil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional seafood”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very simple place, with a nice atmosphere and amazing food. The owner was in the place and everything looked cozy and family-oriented. A place I'd love to visit again and again, for sure!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatricioOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Puerto Varas, Chile”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you would like to enjoy fresh seafood, good wine, prompt service at a reasonable price in Puerto Varas then head to "Donde el Gordito. The salmon with shrimps was absolutely delicious & the servings were very generous. The decor too is interesting with an eclectic mix of souvenirs. Only a few tables so best to book.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate, Little Restaurant”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our tour guide. It was helpful that they have an English-language menu. We had steak and conger eel. Both were nice, but the servings were not large enough to split, as other reviewers have noted.
The space is decorated with souvenirs from their many guests from all over the world, leading me to think that they have been a popular restaurant for many years.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frankei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde el Gordito also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Donde el Gordito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing