We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast, nice location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Lan-Antu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Lan-Antu
Ranked #27 of 38 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, nice location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

It's a nice old German style house. It's less than 5 minutes walk from downtown. Clean place, nice furniture, great view to Llanquihue lake (if you're lucky and it isn't cloudy, you can see the Osorno volcano from the rooms), and friendly staff.
We stayed here one night only. The breakfast was very good.
Negative aspect: everything happening in the next room can be heard. So, be careful and don't speak loud ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serdnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate here on the first night that we arrived in Puerto Varas. The greeting and subsequent service that we received was very good. The food we ordered was simple, salad and empanadas, but was very good.

As with everywhere else in Chile it was expensive but in line with other places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed a week here, the room was a match box, the showers some nights were cold and you can hear everything happening in the adjoining rooms, the wifi was also not available in the rooms. The break fast was the best thing.

All in all id advise others to look else where.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Varas hotels

Valparaiso, Chile
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked to stay 5 nights. The night I arrived, it was really hard to find the entrance. Just when checking in, I found out that there was no tv in the room, apparently because this is a "place for rest".
The room looked NOTHING like the one i had seen in the website. The style, aesthetics and appeareance of the elements and the room itself were not those of an "old style, well-maintained house".
There were only two lamps by the bed, and one was not working.
You can actually hear EVERYTHING that happens in the adjoining rooms, and when I say "everything", I mean EVERYTHING (people showering, peeing, talking, walking, etc). It has a lot of restrictions: YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO EAT ANYTHING in your room. If you are startving and want to have a snack, well, you are not allowed -starve to death.
But this is not the worst part. I forcedly woke up in the morning to a lot of noise coming from people getting up in the other rooms and walking in the hall, and most importantly TO A LEAK FALLING IN MY BED, next to my head, coming from the shower (hopefuly, yet disgusting) of some other passenger in the second floor, and another one falling in my purse and shoes.

When I reported this and said I was leaving immediately, they didn't even apologize. They charged me almost the whole fee. WAY OVERPRICED! Later I found out that one of the fanciest hotels in town costed the same. Had i known earlier...

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel. It is really not what you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdelgadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

extremely quiet and cosy- good value for money. Great location, 1 minute walk to the supermarket, a few minutes walk to the main bus station, close to the restaurants, easy stroll to the lake. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I really don't know why this place should be "isolated" as it's just ca. 50m up the hill from the city center of Puerto Varas - also don't be confused by the low prices: the luxury of this B&B isn't in its faciliites but the originally restored German settler's rooms. Most have a private bathroom with shower or tub.

Yes the breakfast is very limited as everywhere in Chile and the contact persons don't understand any english - however we managed that they called our taxi driver in Santiago to arrange a pick-up at airport!

If you are looking for a real local experience: go here - it's worth!

(no pool or fitness, no idea why this is here to be evaluated?)

Room Tip: upstairs rooms might be better for longer sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I may have arrived in low season to Puerto Varas, but I totally felt alone in this hostel. It is located in the main street very close to the center, but I saw no one in this hostel. The single private room I booked was very very small, I hardely had a place to move in the room. I needed something at nightm and there was no one to ask in the reception, all lights were closed etc. It is very weird place although I must indicate thatthe room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The driver of the hostel helped me a lot with trying to get a city map ( since the hostel didn't have one), and to get me to tourist agency for ordering a tour for the following day. the place was also more expensive than other hostels I stayed in Chile, so I am not sure about its value for money. Would not recommend to go there on your own and stay in single room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kramm
Hotel Kramm
#58 of 77 in Puerto Varas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.9 mi away
Canales del Sur
Canales del Sur
#26 of 38 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal 5 Adobes
Hostal 5 Adobes
#21 of 77 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ventanas del Lago
Ventanas del Lago
#11 of 38 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puerto Austral
Puerto Austral
#9 of 38 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lan-Antu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lan-Antu

Property: Casa Lan-Antu
Address: Del Salvador 587, Puerto Varas 5550560, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing