We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice half day trip with great views from the volcano”
Review of Turistour

Turistour
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Nice half day trip with great views from the volcano”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We did the half day Osorrno volcano tour. We arrived at the office in Puerto Varas where the coach collected everyone.
After a drive to the base of the volcano we were dropped off where the ticket office is to purchase the tickets to go up the ski lifts. This isn’t included in the trip cost, as that only covers the transport, guide.
After finally buying our tickets (only one counter) we got the ski lifts up. Each takes you up another section of the volcano.
The views are fantastic. We went in the summer but as you are up a mountain it does get a bit cold and windy so make sure you take appropriate clothes.
Our guide during the trip in the coach was very good, knowledgeable and spoke good English as well as Spanish.
Nice half day trip out of Puerto Varas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    13
    14
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Tours!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We made 2 daytrips with TurisTour and were very satisfied. Having read the existing reviews of the agency before booking the tours we were worried if everything would work out well and were positively suprised.
The two trips were both interesting and fun. The guide of our tours (2 times the same) was very good and spoke fluent English and Spanish, which was a very big plus. Only negative things to mention are that the pickup is always delayed 10-20 minutes and the group on one tour (to Chiloe Island) was very big and therefore the trip a bit impersonal. But nevertheless I can recommend this agency - good value!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank defko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent bilingual guide”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

great setup.
ran on time
exactly what you pay for.

kayaks werent 5 hours but everything else is good to go.

great guides.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmountcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They misled and lied to us”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked on one tour and because there was not enough people they placed us on a totally different tour without telling us. When we arrived on the island they wanted to charge us more money and kept saying that that told us of the change of tour. The guide was terrible and kept lying to us all day. The trip was a rip off we were gone for 11 hours of which 9 hours were spent sitting on a bus. Very very poor value for money, I will never use this tour operator again and recommend others find another tour operator.

Helpful?
2 Thank jimbob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst "tour" I have ever taken.”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I really wanted to see Lago Todos Los Santos. Turns out that this tour company owns the boat that sails on it. They take you to a stop where they own the only hotel and restaurant and own the rights to take you on their excursions, which are the only ones offered. It is a total racket. The tour guide talks nonstop and half the boat ride is interrupted with an annoying video trying to sell you excursions. You are stuck with absolutely nothing to do but walk around the abysmal grounds for three hours if you don't buy something to do from them. This was the biggest waste of money.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turistour also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Turistour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing