We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly Fishing and Touring with John Joy and Teresa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tres Rios Lodge Fly Fishing & Adventure
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fly Fishing and Touring with John Joy and Teresa”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My father-in-law took his four son-in-laws and his grandson fishing and we stayed with John and Teresa at the house for 5 days. The fishing was great with a ton of time on the water and great scenery. For those who didn't want to fish everyday, John put together a tour of the area for my wife (who came down in the middle of the trip), my father-in-law, and another sister-in-law and they had a great time. John and Teresa were great. The house was wonderful. The food and wine were spectacular. We had the trip of a lifetime at the Tres Rios Lodge and if you have the means, you need to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeberClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family of 4 spend 3 nights in one of their cabins over winter break vacation. It is on a gravel road to nowhere nestled in the foothills with breathtaking views of 3 volcanoes. It is remote and beautiful. We had breakfast to order each morning at the "main house" at a time we set. The advice we got from the owners was valuable to help us tweak our vacation once we arrived "on ground". My only suggestion is to get directions ahead of time. We also had the Verizon data plan international so we used google maps while driving in real time so that helped a ton. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The accommodations, fishing, guiding and location offered by the Tres Rios Lodge are top notch. My wife and I spent part of this November fishing the Petrohue and Maullin rivers with John, and he delivered on our expectations by consistently putting us into position to hook and land some truly huge brown trout. He's been fishing those rivers for 20+ years and it shows. I heard about Tres Rios from a friend of mine who used to guide down in Chile. I had asked him where I should go to fish in Chile, and his advice to me was simple, "Fish the Petrohue with John, you won't regret it." The lodge is an experience unto itself, with an unbelievable view of a massive volcano, beautiful rooms and just-right hosting. I plan to make fishing out of Tres Rios an annual event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am a beginner fly fisherman and my boyfriend was a fly fishging guid for a couple of years. This part of our trip was his decision and I could not have asked for a better experience. John was extremely helpful and efficient. He took care of all our travels to and from the airport as well as picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel. We went fishing for 2 full days (December 2011) and it was hands down the best part of our trip to Chile! Not only did we catch incredible (HUGE) rainbow and brown trout, but John Joy was the perfect guide and now a friend! We went down 2 different rivers with amazing views of the Volcanoes, white water rapids in parts and numerous fish. Delicious homemade lunch each day, beers on the river, lots of fishing and great company made for the best experience. John is extremely knowledgeable about the rivers and the surrounding area, has all of the gear that is needed and is prepared for everything! He knew when to teach and when to let us figure it out on our own. I would highly recommend going fishing with John – it made our trip! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPBR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was in Puerto Varas, ahead of a planned week-long fishing trip south of the Lake region, and arranged to stay for two nights at the lodge, and another night at the b & b, on my return. The owner, John Joy is a remarkably skilled, astute, but low-key and bilingual fly-fishing guide, who rivals the best guides this long-time fisher has experienced in Montana, Colorado or Alaska. He easily maneuvers a substantial cataraft, consistently placing the angler in the best position to make the cast, which is reflected in the substantial and numerous trout that we landed.

As for the food and accommodations, the lodge is secluded on a dirt road off of the main road, and is beautifully landscaped(John was formerly a horticulturist), with superb views of the lake and volcanoes. Its interior is equally handsome.

As for the meals, which were prepared by John’s welcoming wife, Teresa, a native Chilena, I have nothing but praise- home cooked, delicious, well seasoned, using fresh ingredients. The Chilean red wines poured by John, usually after a great Pisco Sour, were deeply flavored with spice, and not your run-of-the-mill Cabernet or Merlot.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at both the lodge, and at their beautifully furnished and landscaped b & b, which is John and Teresa’s home in Puerto Varas. I was fortunate to be invited into their home, and would do so again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfishingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newjersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I were vacationing in Puerto Varas,and I wanted to get in a day's fly fishing.We did not stay at the lodge. Our day with John Joy was fabulous. John is a very pleasant and excellent guide and whitewater rafter. The fishing with streamers was great. The views were spectacular, and my wife who doesn't fish enjoyed it as much as I did. I hope to fish with him again.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishNewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We didn't stay in the lodge but our hotel arranged a fly fishing tour for us. It was a full day tour with John who is such a great and sincere man and he knew the lakes very well. We caught many fish in the river and released them. Lunch was included and his wife prepared it which was one of the best meal I had in Puerto Varas!

If you're looking for a great experience and enjoying the lakes in Puerto Varas - I highly recommend you to use John as your fishing instructor or guide. We didn't find the agents from Grey Adventures or Orvis to be helpful plus they were charging for equipment while John included that in his price!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
Hostal y Cabanas Villa Germana
#15 of 79 in Puerto Varas
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#16 of 27 in Puerto Varas
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Puerto Varas
Hostal Puerto Varas
#25 of 79 in Puerto Varas
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Rios Lodge Fly Fishing & Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Rios Lodge Fly Fishing & Adventure

Property: Tres Rios Lodge Fly Fishing & Adventure
Address: Ruta 225 Km 37.5, Puerto Varas 5550432, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Varas
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indisputably the best location to appreciate the natural beauty of the area, in peaceful wooded countryside up in the hills, with panoramic views of 3 volcanoes, Lake Llanquihue, the Andes, and the Petrohue River valley. Hiking and birding starts in the gardens, with rafting, riding, fishing, kayaking, volcano ascents, zip line, and other activities only minutes away. For active people who look for out of-the-way places with warm hospitality, great food, and creature comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing