We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I spent three nights at this hotel. We found it quite accomodating and conveniently located. Breakfast was quite satisfactory and the rooms were cozy and nicely designed.
On the good size, no doubt, caring service and willingness to help all around. Everybody tried to go the extra. For instance, on learning that it was my birthday, Mr Carlos Heim at the check in counter sent to my room a complimentary delicatessen tray full of assorted cheese and nuts with two glasses of wine. A surprising present, indeed!
We really made use of the courtesy mountain bikes for rides around the lake. Bike lanes made the job easy and safe.
We also enjoyed our stays at the lobby, with live music and a 'home away from home' feel.
There is a car rental on site, too, that can be recommended if you are planning to drive your way to the different sightseeing spots.
The bads? Not many, really. The swimming pool on the seventh floor was a bit cold on the second day of our stay. But who wants to stay so long inside with so many things to discover around?

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter and more scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SILVIABRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed 5 nights and having toured the area quite a bit during that period, this hotel does appear to be one of the best, but it would rank at most a 4 star by N. American hotel standards.

Pros:
1. Perched on a hill, hotel offers great view of Osorno volcano, the lake and Puerto Varas entertainment area

2. it is a 5 minute walk to entertainment/restaurants/beach, but one of the best aspects is that you are sufficiently away from the street and car noises. The Puerto Varas strip was surprisingly busy with cars and people enjoying the area.

3. Hotel rooms were exceptionally quiet. We were on the first floor, which have huge terraces (but note that people walking by on trail can see into room if they wish). There was a family next door and noise did not travel between rooms. We also did not hear doors slamming when people came/went from their room, and the cleaning staff were also quiet in hallway. Pretty impressive for 5 days.

4. Restaurant had reasonable prices and good food quality, and you can take advantage of happy hour (5-7pm) with 2-for-1 drinks

5. A sufficient number of staff spoke English, so wasn't a problem to book tours and make inquiries.

6. There is a rental car agency on second floor, very convenient.

Cons:
1. Staff were friendly and made great attempts to be helpful, but some mis-steps. With a little more attention to details and training, easily fixed and would be the only major area for improvement.

Examples:
Checked into room that had no toilet paper and only 1 bath towel.

We booked a tour through the front desk and they did not provide written confirmation with details (like departure time, name of guide, date, method of payment). We had received a phone call late in the evening on confirmation of date/time only, but since the tour was several days away, it would have been best to provide written details. When we called front desk to confirm details the evening prior to excursion, they didn't seem to have a record of making the booking and this caused unnecessary confusion and back-checking by both us and them. There was no error, the booking was indeed made, but records and details to this effect were not kept by hotel.

Ideally, would be best to have a separate concierge desk so that guests didn't have to wait or hold-up others in hotel who were checking-out in the morning, just to ask a quick question.

Overall, we were quite pleased with overall hotel amenities, food and service...enough so, that we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have huge terraces, but privacy is compromised by walking trail at end of terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBaylis, Gerente at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Bingler,
I appreciate the time you took to share your Cumbres Experience. We strive daily to improve every aspect of our operation and will consider you comments to adjust some of our procedures to ensure our future guests satisfaction!
Thank you very much for your comments we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel recently after trying to find a Hotel and everywhere was full as there was a Marathon on in town.The staff found us a room and were most helpful as we were getting really desperate.
The reception staff were excellent and handled my check in and questions about the location,the food was good and we enjoyed the lovely view over the sea.
The staff were good in recommending places to visit and it was a pleasure to stay in this Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It feels like a lower priced ski resort in the States. While situated on a beautiful lake with and incredible view, the rooms are spartan with minimal amenities. The food is nothing special as well.

The city of Puerto Varas is one that you could miss, along with Puerto Montt. The only attraction that makes this worth the travel to reach is Petrohue Rapids. They are magnificent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBaylis, Gerente at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear hhishome,
Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, we consider all of our guest’s feedback very seriously as it allows us to grow and improve our service. I would really appreciate if you could provide some more information regarding our downfalls during your visit, my email address is sbaylis@hotelescumbres.cl. At Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, we continuously work to surpass our guest’s expectations, however, in your case; we clearly did not meet them and would like to make the changes and adjustments in order to exceed your expectations, hopefully, during your next visit.
I appreciate your time and consideration and hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just one night , but this was one of those hotels you would really want to revisit.
Great location with expansive volcano views , a warm welcoming ambience, large rooms and really good food.. what's not to like
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights last january going from Pucon to Punta Arenas.

I was travelling with my wife and 2 small kids (7 and 9 y/o).

They managed to get us a room with a King-size bed and two single beds, so during our trip to Chile, it was the ONLY hotel where we had real decent and amazingly comfortable nights of sleep.

Service is great, but a bit slow.

The room was big and there was a walk-in closet, very helpful.

The bathroom is big, but the shower is a bit small in comparison with the rest.

Location is great!

Restaurant is nice, with caveats: Some dishes are awesome, others not so much.
I had a lamb - delicious. My wife had a pasta - very disappointing.

Puerto Varas is lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We just spent three nights at Hotel Cumbres and really enjoyed our stay. Our room over-looked the lake and had a perfect view of the Osorno Volcano. Breakfast is included and includes cured meats, cheeses, fruits, cakes, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage and an assortment of fresh juices (try the raspberry juice!) The pool has a nice view of the lake as well, but visitors are required to wear hotel-provided swim caps - something we did not expect, but chuckled about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowgs4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
2,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#8 of 27 in Puerto Varas
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
791 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel AWA
Hotel AWA
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Address: Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $141 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a concept hotel aiming to blend the highest level of service in the region with the warmth and comfort of home, nestled in the natural beauty of Puerto Varas, in the heart of southern Chile.We invite you to be moved by the amazing views from our world class rooms, while you experience our unique style of service, designed to complement the awe-inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing