We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peak hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful itself and the view of the lake and volcano is unparalleled. The lobby/great room is breathtaking. I wanted to stay forever.
Everything was sparkling clean, the staff was friendly and the service excellent. This is the place to stay in Puerto Varas.

Room Tip: Lake views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

All I can say is I must look up number 1 as this one (currently #2) is excellent.
We had a great room overlooking the lake and the volcano, of course. The staff were welcoming, efficient and professional, no problem getting a taxi when we needed it, everything you expect from a first class place.

The restaurant was great with lovely, well prepared food and nice wine by the glass. Interestingly, they have local beers as well which the locals say is an example of the local German heritage. The beer is very good but I heard no German spoken! Breakfast is buffet style and of a high standard. Coffee could improve.

There is a big reception with bell-boy assistance and all the public rooms overlook the lake and the decor is tasteful, airy, open, clean and modern.

It is a short walk into town past a garden with busts of all the local 'good guys' including the ubiquitous Bernardo O"Higgins (there is all a supermarket that bares his name in the town too!).

This is the newest hotel in Puerto Varas, I was told, very upmarket, with prices to match but you get the commensurate level of service too. So grin, enjoy and let the wallet take the strain.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Best hotel in Puerto Varas. Somewhat in the out skirts of town but it is only a 5 minute walk to the town center.
Excellent views of the small town and the volcanos if the weather is clear.
Breakfast is second to none.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are recommended. Try the salmon plate in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Cumbres in Puerto Varas. It is a great location facing lake Llanquihue with a wonderful view of Volcano Osorno. You can walk easily to Puerto Varas. Everybody was very friendly. Highly recomend it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewhite1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Puerto Varas is a pleasant, bustling little town where one can stock up on essentials from helpful merchants before heading into the more remote parts of the Andes. Set on a hill above the town - and away from its noise - the Hotel provides a wonderful view over the lake to the majestic Mt. Osorno. Hard to beat a cocktail in front of the lounge's spacious windows and watch the sunset play on the mountain.
The hotel is comfortable, the rooms spacious, clean and quiet. Try to get one with the Lake view.
Service was fine and friendly. We had dinner in the hotel and while it was not outstanding, it was pleasant, and nicely presented. All in all, a fine visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is really nice, the location is great, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable and huge, but the most unforgettable feature of this hotel is definitely the view!!!!!!!!! Our rooms faced the lake with the beautiful Osorno Vulcano at the back!!! At night a marvelous full moon and lots of stars completed the scenery... The only thing I think they could improve is the breakfast. It's not bad, but nothing special... Considering how good the hotel is, I think they could improve it a little...

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Leticia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you love to open your room door and say "Aaaah!", this is the place where to stay in Puerto Varas. The lovely rooms have outstanding views. The restaurant serves very good fish. The bar is cozy. The little shop has an excellent choice of gifts and the spa is as good as all the rest. The only problem is one day you will have to pack and leave! However, enjoy while it lasts.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Address: Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $186 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a concept hotel aiming to blend the highest level of service in the region with the warmth and comfort of home, nestled in the natural beauty of Puerto Varas, in the heart of southern Chile.We invite you to be moved by the amazing views from our world class rooms, while you experience our unique style of service, designed to complement the awe-inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing