We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place but not for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Weisserhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Weisserhaus
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little place but not for us”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is small, very well kept up and clean B& located perfectly for exploring Varas. It's just a few blocks from the lake. The owner and his daughter were extremely kind and helpful and their command of English was excellent. The rooms are clean, but VERY small unless you get a room for 3. The single beds are VERY small. It was very noisy in the front where our room was. Breakfast was paltry.
In searching for another possibility while there, we came upon 3 excellent fairly large hotels whose prices were the same or LESS than what we were paying. Given that it is high season, we had no choice but to stay put. It is a good choice for overnight, but no more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveboces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    92
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
140
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great central place to stay in Puerto Varas.I stayed here for a few nights in November 2012 and I would go back tomorrow if I could! My room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was delicious especially the cakes and jam. The staff were really helpful and had a lot of good local knowledge. This is a great base for exploring some of the lake district area of Chile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and wished we had planned to stay 4 nights - we really liked the Chilean lake district. We had a warm welcome when we arrived but we were a bit disappointed with our twin-bedded room especially as we had booked 3 months before our stay. The bedroom, number 3, was appropriately numbered as we measured the room and the floor area was just 3 metres x 3 metres. Fortunately there was a wide window shelf and we managed to squeeze our small suitcases on this shelf. There was a wardrobe in the room but a large boxing out in the corner of the wardrobe meant you only had about 15 cms of hanging space, enough just for 4 garments.
On the positive side the buffet breakfast was very good and the owner's daughter Susan was helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. The location of the hotel was excellent being close to the lake and several restaurants. We found it fairly quiet. The spanish speaking launderette in the same street is very helpful and friendly - they even bought me another packet of soap powder when a new member of their staff lost the remainder of our powder. To be fair to the hotel, when I came to pay, they were happy to give me a discount off the pre-booked price because I had booked a long time in advance and somehow ended up with the smallest twin room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room No. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisthemenace2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviere du Loup, canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I just wanted to add to the many other wonderful comments about Weisserhaus! We visit Chile every year and often do two or three day trips out of Lago Rupanco. Weisserhaus is a delight - Jorge and his family are extraordinary hosts and we love this little gem in the gorgeous town of Puerto Varas. We will always stay here and are always made to feel so welcome ... we feel just like old friends!!!

Marilyn Andrews and John Anderson

Room Tip: We will keep the best room as a secret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful, though brief, stay at Weisserhaus. They are incredibly hospitable and are eager to suggest things to do or what to eat. Even though we only stayed one night, they were so helpful in providing access to internet, phone, etc. The rooms were clean and quiet and the parking was a plus. Great breakfast and again, wonderful staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Hotel Weisserhaus, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment.
In spite of your short stay we are very happy that you left the Hotel satisfied with our service.
If sometime you come back to Puerto Varas remember that you have a home here. We will be delighted to attend you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I just turned up at the door with no reservation when we toured Chile recently.

We were made to feel very welcome and accomodated without a problem.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast with homemade jams and cakes was excellent.

Free use of wifi or they even have a computer you can use. Excellent advise for local companies, buses to our next destination, help when we'd lost our immigration tourist card etc.

Very relaxed and easy place to stay at a good price.

Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Hotel Weisserhaus, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello Andrew,
We were happy having you here. Send hello to your wife. We wish you to be very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The family that runs this hostel are wonderful, warm, helpful and delightful people. They go out of their way to engage, accomodate and help you any way they can. The room was comfortable enough although it had a hand-held shower wand. Breakfast was adequate. But it was the proprietor and his daughter that made the place wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Hotel Weisserhaus, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello Judy!
I remember you very well!!! I´m glad that you were confortable at our Hotel. We always try to recieved our guest like they werepart of our family, so I´m glad you noticed.
Good luck and send hello to your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisserhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisserhaus

Property: Hotel Weisserhaus
Address: San Pedro 252 | esquina Walker Martinez, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisserhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Weisserhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing