We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel”
Review of Weisserhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weisserhaus
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family run hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I just turned up at the door with no reservation when we toured Chile recently.

We were made to feel very welcome and accomodated without a problem.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast with homemade jams and cakes was excellent.

Free use of wifi or they even have a computer you can use. Excellent advise for local companies, buses to our next destination, help when we'd lost our immigration tourist card etc.

Very relaxed and easy place to stay at a good price.

Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Weisserhaus, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello Andrew,
We were happy having you here. Send hello to your wife. We wish you to be very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    92
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
141
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The family that runs this hostel are wonderful, warm, helpful and delightful people. They go out of their way to engage, accomodate and help you any way they can. The room was comfortable enough although it had a hand-held shower wand. Breakfast was adequate. But it was the proprietor and his daughter that made the place wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Weisserhaus, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello Judy!
I remember you very well!!! I´m glad that you were confortable at our Hotel. We always try to recieved our guest like they werepart of our family, so I´m glad you noticed.
Good luck and send hello to your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Just the best value. Great room. Great breakfast. They make you feel at home - the whole family! Could not find fault. The whole hotel is clean tidy and well presented. They speak English. The beds were very comfortable, the showers hot and the room warm at night.
These owners are genuinely trying hard to please their guests. You feel like you are staying with friends. We were able to leave our bags there for a few days while we visited Bariloche in Argentina which is a trip to be recommended. Hope I get back one day. Many thanks.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Weisserhaus, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you Brian for your words. We are very satisfied to know that felt comfortable with us. We hope see you in another time. You will always have a home in Puerto Varas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

clean room, helpful staff (they even led us a good map for hiking in the national park) helpedus with recomednation for restaurant etc... They are very detailed about getting your passsport info soyou get the IVA discount (you have to pay in USD). Ido not hezitate torecomend this as a base from which to explore the region.

Room Tip: Tomtom GPS cannot find street number for this hotel but start from one end you cannot miss it on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollito25, Gerente at Weisserhaus, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your words, it was a pleasure have you here.
Good luck anywhere you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We decided to stay here as the location is very close to the lake ,in center of town , read the good reviews and was really a good choice .In February is high season in Chile so the town was very crowded the firsts days we stayed ,as we were going to do a cruice to the fiords from Puerto Montt ,when we came back , a week later was something different and very pleasant .The inn for us was better than other bed and breakfasts we saw ,due to the few blocks to walk to go anywhere .Owners were great . rooms very confortable as beds .Good internet and big LCD TV in the rooms ,as some B&B dont have as they are old German wood homes and they would be too noisy as they explained us . Breakfast was Chilean type .not very big but was good quality . Recomended place ,only book in advance .

Room Tip: We saw some rooms and all are nice , when it was crowded due to the traffic was a very bit noicy ,bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My Dutch and Chilean family stayed here for 2nights. Rooms were very clean and beds were great. Jorge and her daughter were always very helpful and friendly, available to help us at any moment. They recommended us a restaurant in the same street and was fab...cannot remember its name!
If you want to get to know Puerto Varas just leave your car at hotel and visit the promenade.
The only improvement should be the breakfast. My in- laws used to have it 7,30 am and only were given a few slices of heese/ham and one bread pp. Maybe it was a bit early... We went down at 9,30- 10 and had plenty of cheese, bread, etc. We missed some eggs and fresh fruit juice, not from concentrate.
In summary, we had a great stay and quiet nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71Paola2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at this place in February 2012, and it was everything I had been told and more. The place is small (9 bedrooms). Our room was well lit, looking out the back towards the police station, firm bed, 40 inch television, adecquate bathroom and heaters. Place was overall very clean and tidy. Breakfast is brief but adecquate and standard with no variation during the 3 days we stayed there; may get a bit tiresome during long stays.
Its location is very convenient, a mere 2 blocks away from Puerto Varas' shoreline, or its downtown area.
Perfect for families or couples wanting to have a central place to return to from trips in the area.
This place has a small parking area, fitting 6 cars. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter, but face the police station, this is absolutely no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.7 mi away
Casa Kalfu
Casa Kalfu
#8 of 27 in Puerto Varas
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weisserhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weisserhaus

Property: Weisserhaus
Address: San Pedro 252 | Walker Mertinez, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Weisserhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weisserhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing