We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Gracious People”
Review of Hotel Weisserhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Weisserhaus
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and Gracious People”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I have to say, its the people that turn a excellent hotel into a great one. The owner and staff are about as friendly as they come. Throughout the stay we felt we were treated like family. The owners have authentic charm and gracious hospitality. The hotel itself is very wonderful. Its more like a large house that has been turned into a hotel. The common room just passed the reception is comfortable and relaxing. The rooms up the stairs are cozy. The waves from the lake can be heard during the night. Its located in the heart of the city with restaurants, car rental sites, and bakeries nearby. One night, we felt so relaxed in the hotel, we skipped dinner and just watched television from the bed. If I return to Puerto Varas, which is a delightful town, I'll make my way back to the Hotel Weisserhaus without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaSunDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    92
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
141
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was a fantastic find. I really enjoyed staying here. The management is family and they are all quite friendly and helpful. The rooms are delightful - cozy, comfortable and happy. The room I shared with family is a little small, by American standards, but don't let that stop you. The rooms were great to come back to after a day of traveling around Patagonia and just felt relaxing. The bathroom is a comfortable size. The location is, I believe, just 5 years old. Some insights: The hotel serves a delightful continental breakfast with ham, cheese, kuchen, juice, yogurt, cereal, etc. The hotel offers on-site parking but like anywhere else that offers parking, if you need to leave early make sure you are the the last one in so no one is parked behind you. The location is central so you are in walking distance to everywhere and literally two blocks from the lake. My bed was a little too soft for me as I like sleeping on a firm mattress but this was not a big problem for me. Bottom Line: I would without hesitation stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoaster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel Weisserhaus is a lovely little guest house centrally located in Puerto Varas, in one of the most beautiful areas of Chile. The owner Jorge and his daughter Susan could not have been more helpful or accommodating. I had lived in the area around 40 years before as a Peace Corps volunteer and was very eager to see if everything was as wonderful as my memories. I also was traveling with my daughter, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend's mother so I was eager to show her where I had lived when I was approximately her age. Susan arranged a car and driver for us for a long afternoon for only sixty dollars, and he took us to all the glorious sites that I remembered including Lago Llanquihue, Lago Todos los Santos, the Saltos de Petrohue, Laguna Verde, and Ensenada. The driver had a friend who arranged a boat trip for us at Todos los Santos, a stunningly beautiful lake the color of turquoise with the picture postcard Volcan Osorno towering over it.

Jorge also showed us the next day where to catch the local bus for the short ride to Frutillar, a beautiful town also on Lago Llanquihue which has a strong German influence from the immigrants. We had a delicious piece of Tres Leches cake, which is not to be missed. We also had dinner in Puerto Varas at a restaurant called Donde el Gordito, which translates roughly as Fat Man's Place, which had been visited by Anthony Bourdain.

The hotel itself is small and the rooms were a bit loud because of street noise but they were immaculately clean. The breakfast was delicious with homemade pastas. The coffee was as bad as I remembered, as well--instant! It was an unforgettable vacation, and without Jorge's help we would never have been able to see all that we did.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel Weisserhaus in Puerto Varas, a beautiful small town in the Lakes District of Chilean Patagonia. We were so glad to have booked there; we were treated like longtime guests from the moment we arrived until we left. Jorge and his daughter (unfortunately, can't remember her name) were very helpful and friendly. They gave us great restaurant recommendations, suggested some fun activities, and helped us arrange a rental car. They also arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport in Puerto Montt, about 30 minutes away. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable; in fact, the bed linens and towels were remarkably nice. Jorge proudly told us that they are made by the best linen company in Chile! Breakfast was very nice, plenty of selection of cold items like meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, etc. There is also coffee and tea, of course, along with juice.

The hotel is located in the heart of Puerto Varas, which is not an especially big place, but it's still worth mentioning that the lake (and the amazing views across to the volcano) is just a couple of blocks away. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, as well. If you want a place to relax besides your room, the living room of the hotel is comfortable, with a big TV. There's also complimentary wi-fi with a good connection.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves at Hotel Weisserhaus and would definitely return here on a future trip to Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The man running this family type hotel is amazingly kind and considerate. We arrived by bus, so we were early at the hotel (around 10 am). He immediately looked for a room that was ready and offered a free breakfast. When he asked for my passport, he realized I did not keep the paper I needed to leave Chile, so he walked with me to the police station, and I got a new paper in a very short time. There is a family atmosphere in this hotel that is comforting and very cozy. Good bed, good shower, good breakfast, good memories.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Firstly I would like to say that the owners of Weisserhaus made us feel very welcome on our arrival. The gentleman made sure to assist us with all our sightseeing questions and his charming daughter too. I would surely return to the Weisserhaus on our next visit to P Varas.It is excellently positioned. The beds are ever so comfortable. Breakfast was basic and the only thing didnt like was they called orange juice. On the other hand I loved their home made cakes. When visiting P Varas make sure to take a bus and visit Fruitillar/

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VickiHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Weisserhaus Hotel is great in every way. Central location, very charming traditional building, beautifully decorated, lovely rooms, good value but most of all the lovely peope that run it, who coud not do more for you, and in my case did far more when I discovered I had lost some vital medication, that I need to take every every day. If it were not for the owner, who hepled me resolve this situation, I would have been in big trouble. The owners have put a lot of love and effort gone into every part of the hotel, even the breakfast had those extra touches that made it special. Puerto Varras is a lovey place to visit and staying at Weisserhaus Hotel made it so much more. I just wished I had more time to stay there, but will definitey go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee_Farouteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisserhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisserhaus

Property: Hotel Weisserhaus
Address: San Pedro 252 | esquina Walker Martinez, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisserhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Weisserhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing