We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spot In Puerto Varas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 39 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Spot In Puerto Varas”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

John & his family have a great home in PV. Great hosts. Breakfast was amazing. The coffee...oh the coffee. Great rooms. Big with very comfy beds. Best sleeps we had in a few weeks. They can hook you up with other activities if you want as well. John took us for a day on the river fly fishing. He knows guiding. I'd only gone fly fishing a few times & my GF had never tried. It was a blast! Great view, great ride. Yes we both caught some great trout. Amazing day. This was one of our top 3 days on our 6 week trip. I highly recommend them for both a place to stay and a great fishing trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinCanukMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
43
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Varas, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Excellent and exceptional! We stayed here for 4 nights while we toured around Puerto Varas. The house was easy to find (Jon will give you instructions when you book). It is an easy walk from the bus depot and just as easy downtown. The rooms are very high quality, quiet and comfortable. Theresa's breakfasts included a large plate of fresh fruit, eggs, ham, really good toast and lots of coffee. They are marvellous hosts and you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Tradicion Austral for seven nights. This place is amazing, very clean, well decorated and comfortable. Upon our arrival their two young sons came out of the Hostal to greet us and introduce themselves. That alone goes along way with me and says a lot about Jon and Theresa. The breakfast was to die for, healthy and hearty. I had a cold when I arrived, about five days in I decided not to fly fish. I laid low and cared for my cold. They brought me breakfast in bed! Who does that? They do. They made hot honey with lemon tea for me as well.Amazing
As for fly fishing, the rivers are breath taking and loaded with Rainbow, Brown Trout as well a Salmon. The Guides Jon, Stephen, Edgar and Dan are exceptional. They certainly know the rivers and where all the best fishing is. Their knowledge of techniques are unsurpassed. I arrived as a okay caster and left feeling like an expert. Thank you guys for all the tips. Stopping on the shore at different places every day for lunch was awesome. There are picnic areas set up, and they have there tables and etc. The lunches were excellent, steak sandwiches, pasta salad with smoked mussels, meatballs, rice, vegetables, salami and cheese, much much more. Bottled water, Cola, or Beer were always available.
I plan to revisit again next year and highly recommend this place. If your looking for fun, fly fishing, sight seeing, shopping with comfort and wonderful people. This is your one stop place to go!

Room Tip: No matter which room you get they are clean, very comfortable and with fresh flowers everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We loved staying at Tradicion Austral Hostal! The house is beautiful. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had in Chile. Our only regret was not booking a guided fly fishing trip with Jon. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan82_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our 3 nights stay with Theresa and Jon were delightful. Theresa's breakfasts were by far the most delicious and generous of our 6week trip around Chile and Argentina. The whole family welcomed us warmly and we were given lots of helpful advice on places to eat and the best sights to see. Tradicion Austral is a real gem....beautifully appointed bedroom in a charming old Germanic house. We would highly recommend this B& B to anyone finding themselves in lovely Puerto Varas

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this place for 4 nights and it was well worth it. I travel a lot for my business in Western Europe and South America and know when I am being taken for a ride, and this is NOT one of those types of places at all.

For breakfast, Theresa (who speaks perfect English) made fresh fruit, and not just the cheap and typical fruits! They had fresh mango, pineapple, strawberries, peaches and more (granted, it was summer time), plus super good scrabbled eggs, I mean really good. They also had meats and cheeses, but my favorite part next to the eggs was the banana bread, which I could've eaten about 5 slices each day.

The rooms were nice and perfectly cleaned daily (unlike the place we stayed in Maitencillo for a week before that was $150 a night and felt like we were staying in a college party house!) Tradicion Austral Hostal was a perfectly run B&B, nice, clean and cordial. Also, it is one of those places that you are not so sure about upon arrival because it is a somewhat hidden house on a gravel road and you are greeted by the little watchdog, named Odie. It wasn't a perfect little "Betty Crocker" outside (thankfully) but had a very charming and perfectly well-kept inside. It seemed like most of it was new, or at least refurbished. It was also very quiet, except for Odie, the house protector ;)

We met John (Theresa's husband and co-owner) towards the end of the day (who is from Indiana, I believe). Super nice guy. The last day we were there, we had a little problem with our car battery (but we didn't know that was the case for sure) and John was more than helpful. He called his mechanic who was just down the street a couple of blocks. The mechanic helped us out and refused to accept any pay after he directed us to the local Goodyear, which also gave good service. We were off in no less than 1 hour of our battery going completely down. That doesn't even happen in the States!

All in all, you can't really ask for much more from a B&B in Chile.

Also, another rec. Dinner at La Jardinera is a good break from the typical Chilean meals. The chef and his wife used to work in London and like to play a little more with their food than most of the Chilean restaurants around there. We went two nights in a row because they deserved the business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here. John picked us up at the airport (extra charge negotiated up-front) and brought us to the B&B. We mostly talked fishing on the way as that was the intent of our stay.

Accommodations:
Plus
* House was clean and inviting.
* Our room was clean and nicely appointed.
* Linens and bed very comfortable
* private bathroom, very clean
Minus
* Room was recently painted so smell of fresh paint gave both my wife and I a headache the first night. We kept windows open for the 2nd night.
* Toilet didn't flush well and took forever to cycle

Food:
Breakfast was on time, lots of nice fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs were done just right. 2nd morning we asked to add crab from prior night's leftovers and was gladly done.

John was available and helpful with information on town, how to get to places, etc.
John helped us with paperwork/processing for getting to Argentina. Also dropped us off for the bus/boat to Argentina and made sure we were settled

Prior to arrival, John answered the myriad of e-mails/questions we had about travel there. He also save us substantially on inter-Chile flights.

Fishing:
John is an excellent guide, knows his river, and puts you where you need to be to catch fish. Flies, waders, boots, leaders, etc. all provided. John believes in minimal equipment so find out exactly what you need from him and bring only that. We also had the river to ourselves for most of the float. I caught my fill of beautiful fish on the Rio Petrohue as well as filled my camera with shots of the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: This is in a B&B a short walk from the main town on a quiet street. As such, all rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,603 reviews
1.7 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 27 in Puerto Varas
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Address: Terraplen 765, Puerto Varas 5550451, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradicion Austral, a spacious traditional home in a quiet residential area a few minutes walk from the center of town, is operated by an hospitable family eager to make your visit to Chile a great experience. Sleep blissfully on top quality mattresses and linens, feather pillows and down comforters in spotless rooms. Breakfast includes fresh brewed coffee, free-range eggs, seasonal fruits, homemade jams, honey, fresh breads, cheese, etc. There is free off street parking and free pickup within town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing