We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest homes anywhere. Yummy breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 45 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the Austral. It's a close walk to town (uphill), but in a quiet neighborhood. The family who run the house are exceptional, and made me feel like an absent relative. This was the best home of my four weeks in Chile (so far, at least). And the breakfast? Raspberry juice, mixed fruits, fresh bread ... yummy!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtJesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

John & Teresa were excellent hosts at Tradicion Austral B&B. The house is large with separate areas available for visitors. Breakfasts were generous and like a gourmet spread, with toast, homemade jams, meat/cheese, a platter of fresh fruit, and eggs if you wish; plus juice, coffee, tea.
The room was very clean, bathroom was always spotless and cleaned each day, and the bedroom/bedding nice and warm - you could get a heater in the room if you felt cold, which I didn't, so I don't know what reviewer Marlalee is talking about (as they stayed during the same week I was at this B&B).
It really felt like a home away from home as John, Teresa and the kids (plus the dog Odie) were very welcoming and helpful with possible eating and tourist options in Puerto Varas and surrounding towns. They also know most of the tour companies and arranged some different activities on my behalf. There is WiFi available too.
I really enjoyed my stay there for a week and would highly recommend this B&B to others if you want a place that is quiet at night but a convenient, short walk to the centre of Puerto Varas. If I make it back to this part of Chile I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenJOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were supposed to stay 3 nights here but our room was freezing which was too uncomfortable so we only stayed 1 night. The location is great, hosts very kind and breakfast was plentiful but the room and public spaces were very cold with no heat. We were very disappointed.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marlaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cachupin53, Propietario at Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Interesting! The house was full of lively guests and no one said anything about it being cold, not even them. It was 16° C (61°F) that summer day. It may have been cool in the morning but they had a heater in their room. Maybe because it was raining, they informed us that they had decided to continue traveling northward. Ten months in advance, we had reserved a triple room for the two of them as it's our only room with separate beds. They did't object in the least to paying for 2 of the 3 nights they had reserved even though they left after 1, everyone losing on the deal. Is this payback with an extremely cool review?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This B&B lives up to the overwhelmingly positive reviews posted here. My wife and I spent three days here this past November. The house, room, bathroom, breakfast, location and hosting were all A+, enabling us to fully relax, shed accumulated dust from the road, and make the most out of our time in Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Puerto Varas is the the portal to Heaven, and Tradicion Austral Bed and Breakfast is a lovely place to stay. The B & B is explicitly clean and very quiet. It is well located, a few blocks from the 'city' center. Teresa, the hostess was quite willing to help us with our many questions about the area, as was John. Good people, good place, and absolutely beautiful places to visit around Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimandSusan607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The proprietor, John Joy was extremely helpful to us while we were in Puerto Varas. He gave us good advice, transport and helped us find alternate lodging when, "There was no room at the inn." We highly recommend contacting him for lodging. He is fluent in English. He also offers customized fishing trips. John's wife, Teresa, was also charming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank LordRosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We loved this B&B. Part of travel for us is to have a little exposure to people and places in the country we’re visiting. This was a great combination of local culture and really being at home—with John a native mid-westerner (US) and Teresa a wonderful Chilean. All our needs were cheerfully met with a response of “no problema” (stay an extra night, late departure, storing luggage during our kayak trip, trips to airport, good advice on tours, restaurants and shops, careful attention to our laundry). Room was cozy, breakfasts of lots of fresh fruit, eggs, toast, meats, cheese, juice and coffee, wonderful. The family, including the dog, was friendly, the house comfortable, and the location very convenient. After the kayak trip we took, the guide dropped off other travelers at a fancy hotel, and we were so glad to be returning to this homey place instead. It was just what we needed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
1.7 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#15 of 27 in Puerto Varas
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#14 of 27 in Puerto Varas
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Molino
Casa Molino
#12 of 27 in Puerto Varas
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Guest House Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Puerto Varas
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Margouya
Casa Margouya
#13 of 45 in Puerto Varas
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast

Address: Terraplen 765, Puerto Varas 5550451, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $88 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradicion Austral, a spacious traditional home in a quiet residential area a few minutes walk from the center of town, is operated by an hospitable family eager to make your visit to Chile a great experience. Sleep blissfully on top quality mattresses and linens, feather pillows and down comforters in spotless rooms. Breakfast includes fresh brewed coffee, free-range eggs, seasonal fruits, homemade jams, honey, fresh breads, cheese, etc. There is free off street parking and free pickup within town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing