We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this homey B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 38 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Sanibel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved this homey B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We loved this B&B. Part of travel for us is to have a little exposure to people and places in the country we’re visiting. This was a great combination of local culture and really being at home—with John a native mid-westerner (US) and Teresa a wonderful Chilean. All our needs were cheerfully met with a response of “no problema” (stay an extra night, late departure, storing luggage during our kayak trip, trips to airport, good advice on tours, restaurants and shops, careful attention to our laundry). Room was cozy, breakfasts of lots of fresh fruit, eggs, toast, meats, cheese, juice and coffee, wonderful. The family, including the dog, was friendly, the house comfortable, and the location very convenient. After the kayak trip we took, the guide dropped off other travelers at a fancy hotel, and we were so glad to be returning to this homey place instead. It was just what we needed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
43
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our trip to Patagonia started in Puerto Varas and the wonderful hosting by the family at Tradition Austral. We were met at the bus station by John and his son and John took our luggage to the B&B in his pick up while his son walked with us to the B&B (about 3 blocks)...it was wonderful to walk and have sights pointed out after our all night bus trip from Santiago. The lodging was excellent...we were six people (5 from Costa Rica and 1 from New York) and we had the entire top floor for ourselves. We had the best breakfast we had on our entire three week trip. Everything was fresh, local fruits and honey and bread, and all served with care. John was exceptional helpful in getting us our bus tickets and they were seemed impossible to get out while we were out of the country. I highly recommend this place and this wonderful family. Sandra Pollack, Journeyweavers Travel (New York) and Ana Zamora, Yemaya Travel (Costa Rica)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyweavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

John and Teresa Joy and their lovely young family will give you the warmest of welcomes at their B&B and make you really feel part of the family. Without asking we were met by John as we arrived on our bus in the center of town. Just a 5-minute walk to the center of Puerto Varas, the house is comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful with eggs to order, toast and homemade preserves, fresh fruit and good coffee. You are invited to use the kitchen if you like, which we did to cook the trout caught on a fishing trip with John (see later). Our only criticism would be the hot water system in our bathroom, which required some patience and a little knowledge of fluid dynamics to get to work consistently.
John is well known locally as an expert fishing guide and as well as the B&B they have a fishing lodge for more serious anglers. The male member of the party did a one-day fishing trip with John and landed an amazing 29 brown and rainbow trout, the former natives being released back to the wild and the feral rainbows returning to the house to be cooked as aforementioned for a delicious meal or two shared with the family and other guests . Drifting down the river in John’s boat with no other boats for six or seven hours on a river with no shortage of fish is a great experience not to be missed if you are a keen fisherman.
We actually stayed here twice, both before and after Christmas and the owners kindly stored our extra luggage and helped us with local transport,such is the extend of their hospitality.We highly recommend this B&B for your stay in Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cachupin53, Owner at Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your appreciation of home and hospitality. We enjoyed meeting you and found your lifestyle and stories fascinating.

You should have mentioned that you were having trouble with the hot water. The next guest in the room told us he couldn’t shave in the sink and I checked it out. Plugged screen on the faucet aerator. Problem solved in under a minute. As no one has had problems with the shower, I assume that that was the problem you had with fluid dynamics. Sorry about that.

Chile is the world’s second largest producer of farmed trout and salmon. The rainbow trout that we culled from the Maullin River were easily identifiable escapees from a fish farm. As they are potential carries of the ISA virus that could be passed to resident brown trout, we feel that it’s prudent to harvest them. Otherwise, all our sport fishing excursions are catch & release.

John Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a very well-kept house, with lovely decorated rooms and very friendly and welcoming hosts. You can use an excellently equipped kitchen, everything is in great state.
The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and the bathroom very good. There is WIFI and you can use a computer in the common room.
The house - though a bit hard to find at first - is situated in a quiet neighborhood and in walking distance to the center or Puerto Varas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casabrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very nice clean welcoming home. We will definately be going back. John and his wife know how to make you feel like you have a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We only stayed one night but John and Theresa were very warm and friendly. I wished we could have stayed longer but we were already tightly scheduled. Great breakfast and fun discussions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

For some years I have wanted to do some fly fishing in southern Chile. I had three days spare in Oct 11 and found John's operation via the internet. After a few emails arrangements were made and I was met by John and his lovely wife Theresa at Puerto Montt airport and taken direct to our first days fishing on the Maullin River. This proved to be a great experience with all fishing gear provided including a very pleasant lunch of smoked salmon sandwiches and a cold beer on the river. The fishing was excellent with many brown trout of various sizes caught and released. The second day's fishing was on the Petrohue river - WOW! what an experience with white water rapids, huge browns and magnificent scenery - the best fly fishing ever!! The third day back on the Maullin and again many trout of various sizes. I spent two very pleasant nights at the Tradicion Austral B & B in a comfortable room with all amenities provided - fabulous woodwork and very cozy! Breakfast was first rate and the village is within walking distance with many good restaurants on offer for your evening meal. All in all a trip of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.1 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#16 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Greco
Hotel El Greco
#18 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#3 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Address: Terraplen 765, Puerto Varas 5550451, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradicion Austral, a spacious traditional home in a quiet residential area a few minutes walk from the center of town, is operated by an hospitable family eager to make your visit to Chile a great experience. Sleep blissfully on top quality mattresses and linens, feather pillows and down comforters in spotless rooms. Breakfast includes fresh brewed coffee, free-range eggs, seasonal fruits, homemade jams, honey, fresh breads, cheese, etc. There is free off street parking and free pickup within town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing