We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Solace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Hotel Solace is a nice place near the center of Puerto Varas. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are fairly comfortable. We had a mini suite which included a couch and chair. Unfortunately, the couch was so soft that we sank way down into it, making it difficult to get up. The bed was comfortable enough, although we would have liked it to have been firmer. There is no air conditioning and there were no fans available, so although it was OK, we would have preferred to have the room a little cooler. The bathroom was quite small and although there was great water pressure in the shower, the tub was very slippery and had no rubber mat. There were no hand towels or washcloths, so we used the bath towels and floor mat. The included breakfast was average at best and we would not recommend eating meals in the hotel restaurant. The clerks will gladly recommend nearby restaurants ... we especially enjoyed La Marca, just a block down the street. If you like steak, this is a great choice. In fact, we ate there twice. We liked the free wifi, and the desk staff helped us verify arrangements we had made in advance. We would stay here again.if we were ever to return to Puerto Varas.

This hotel was one of several we booked through hotels.com for our trip through Chile and Argentina and was the ONLY one that was helpful in providing information before our arrival. We contacted Victor Santana by email several times requesting information about local tours and activities, transportation, rental cars etc. and each time he was very helpful and responded quickly. This service alone is reason enough to stay at the Solace. What a great employee!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest
we really appreciate your positive review, and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Solace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 599 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

In early December the room was horribly hot and there was virtually no way to get any outside air in the room. The small window that opened was behind several layers of curtains that wouldn't move. That's why I am only giving it 3 stars. In a cooler time of year it might have been 4 stars.

The other memorable item is that the hotel had a serious problem with (no) hot water. My travel mate called the front desk and the manager went to her room to check her bathroom fixtures. He saw that she was soaking some undies in the sink and had a fit. Apparently only body parts are supposed to be washed in the sink and/or room.

Other than that it was a nice room in an attractive property. The artwork on their lobby walls (which is for sale) is wonderful.

But please be mindful of the experiences of other people given below. We didn't have to deal with noisy parties, etc. That would have certainly spoiled our stay greatly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 10 month old baby and another couple over new year. The hotel is nicely done out, our rooms were junior suites which were nice sizes and very comfortable but nothing outstanding. The communal areas are very nice, the staff are great, very friendly and helpful and especially accommodating with any needs we had for the baby. The main area for improvement is the food. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and ticks all the boxes but isn't great quality food, and the restaurant food is very average. The location is great, very close to town and quiet though there is no lake view. All in all it's a good hotel, great value for money and ticks all the boxes well but isn't exceptional in any area. I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JulieReddingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest
we really appreciate your positive review, and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights end of October and beginning November for the 2013 Mundial de Mus (Basque card game, world championships). For those 8 days the hotel accommodated 120+ people for 3 meals a day almost every day. The service was excellent and cheerful, accommodating 13 countries and their various needs. A prior review may have endured our closing ceremonies and loud music - I agree if not a part of the event and staying in the hotel it would have been terrible. For us and our group the hotel and staff were entirely dedicated.

Good location just outside the more touristy casino and harbor area.

Well done Solace Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nberd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest
we really appreciate your positive review, and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the location, room quality & food of the hotel but beware never to get a room in the wing alongside the car park unless you have confirmation the function room will not be in use.

We were in room 212 and retired about 2130 to pack for our flight the next day then read until about 2330. We could hear faint music but about 2200 a band started up and over the next hour progressively increased the volume (poor bands think noise makes up for quality) so that by 2300 we could hardly hear ourselves think, the room was reverberating with the noise. The bathroom, with its tiled walls was almost uncomfortable. We realised we were directly above the function room.

At 2345 went down to reception to ask what time the noise was finishing to be told 0100. Told we could not sleep because of the noise and was offered earplugs! Refused and insisted they give us another room for the night. The last room available was 2 floors above but the noise was almost as bad as it was being transmitted by the building structure. Complained again and at 0015 the band was made to turn down the noise.

We subsequently found out that at least 2 other people in adjacent rooms had complained before us and been moved. The management should not allocate rooms above the function room to people not involved with functions in it, offering ear plugs is farcical.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South east side are only quieter when there are no functions in the function room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Playdendavenports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We deeply regret that your stay has not been completely satisfactory.

I apologize on behalf of the hotel and our staff for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is locate less them 500 meter from downtown, quiet and closed to everything. Good room, clean, modern, good wifi, very warm, good furniture. All this qualitites also can be applied in the public area. The breakfast is good, not so many options but enough to satisfy you. Weak point : don't has media lunas and only has american coffee. That was the best cost benefit in my search.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielValeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.
and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.


Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of the best stops on our travels through Patagonia. The rooms were clean, modern, roomy and very well maintained. The elevators were fast and efficient. The beds were very comfortable and we got one of best sleeps of our trip. The provided breakfast was really excellent. A great variety of dishes and a nice eating environment. The hotel is very centrally located to the main part of the city. The only complaints we had, which were minor, a veterinarian center seemed to be on the other side of the parking lot and dogs barked during the night. Each morning the bathroom fan went on automatically and sucked air through the vent in the bottom of the door which made the bathroom a bit drafty. Again, very minor complaints. Would love to come here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Gerente at Solace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest
we really appreciate your positive review, and many thanks for your usefull suggestions. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards

Daniel Cabello
Operations Manager from Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solace Hotel

Address: Imperial 0211, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range: $87 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solace Hotel has been built in a modern style according to the highest standards of efficiency and qualified service. It was thought to satisfy most travelers' needs, in an environment full of warm and comfort. Its building remarks natural elements, as wood, stone, looms, among others. Wide and comfortable rooms, fine decorated and equipped to provide functionality. Warm, comfort and privacy, to have a unique and unforgettable stay. All our rooms have a privileged view to the city, main, church, Llanquihue Lake and Osorno and Calbuco Volcanoes. 07 Suites Rooms and 79 junior Suites Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing