We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspect the room first!”
Review of Solace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Inspect the room first!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had room 311 which had an excellent view of the Church, which is lit at night. The public areas of the hotel are lovely, but this particular room was a disappointment. It is part of a suite and the walls are very thin. My side of the connecting door did not lock properly so I had to ask reception to have it fixed. I also moved the couch in front of the connecting door. There were huge stains on the carpeting and the chair. Lighting for reading was very poor. There was good lighting on the other side of the room, but not over or near the bed. The bathroom was small. Wi-fi was unstable, but it was complimentary.

Breakfast buffet was average,though they had excellent coffee.

I just think this room was a lemon - so if you stay here, inspect your room first.

Room Tip: Inspect the room and don't accept a room with stained carpet or furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    203
    47
    8
    5
See reviews for
127
277
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2012

very good, but I am going back and won't stay there for the simple fact that they are blocks from the lake without a view that you could get in another hotel. Besides that, breakfast was OK, bad juices, slow toaster, strong coffee, light coming in at night in my room.

The hotel was extremely clean, the rooms where impeccable and the beds very comfortable and nice sheets and all that that is key. the common areas nice and clean, the food was pretty good, I did not like the hamburger do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Happily, during our visit, the dogs were not barking. The location up on a hill was fine for us, but could easily be a problem for those less mobile. We stayed 2 nights and did get the view of Volcano Orsorno when the clouds cleared. This hotel was extremely well-staffed: there was usually someone there to open the front door for us. The included breakfast buffet was very nice. This hotel is very nicely decorated, but perhaps they went overboard with the bowls for wash basins; I'm glad I'm at least of average height!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise. It is very modern and clean. On top of a hill overlooking much of the city. We got on ok view from our 2nd floor room but if you got something higher up I'm sure you would be able to see much more. It is a couple of blocks from the downtown area and very walkable to the lake. I would chose this place over our Marriott Hotel in Santiago any day. It comes with free wifi, a nice assortment for breakfast and a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linhelsobrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Solace is a nice hotel. If you get the room overlooking the garden, there is no noise problem. The rooms facing the street will hear dogs barking at night. That is a problem in Puerto Varas that stry dogs are all over town.

What I liked most was very powerful Wi-FI signal right in my room as the router transmitter was located on the second or third floor overlooking the garden in the center. The service was fast and available.

The breakfast at the hotel was good. The hotel is located on the hill socoming back after dinner in town, you have to climb a hill.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the center garden if you want good wi-fi signal and less noise of dogs at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice comfortable bedroom with space, desk and in-room wif-fi. Beware of the East side
- you may be lucky and have a distant glimpse of Mount Osorno but there is a dog's home just across the road and the dogs bark constantly. Helpful staff and hotel very close for walk to town.

Room Tip: East side rooms very noisy with barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

After a couple of long flights, the Solace Hotel provided us with some solace was we got over our jetlag. The rooms were comfortable with modern fittings - and quiet and dark. We couldn't hear the dogs barking throughout the night, but my parents could in the next room. Both our room and the hotel were impeccably clean. The breakfast was good, typical of a hotel. It was in a good location, just a short distance from the town.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#4 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Puerto Varas
Enjoy Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#6 of 27 in Puerto Varas
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Los Volcanes
Dreams Los Volcanes
#2 of 27 in Puerto Varas
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solace Hotel

Property: Solace Hotel
Address: Imperial 0211, Puerto Varas 5550000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Varas
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Varas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solace Hotel has been built in a modern style according to the highest standards of efficiency and qualified service. It was thought to satisfy most travelers' needs, in an environment full of warm and comfort. Its building remarks natural elements, as wood, stone, looms, among others. Wide and comfortable rooms, fine decorated and equipped to provide functionality. Warm, comfort and privacy, to have a unique and unforgettable stay. All our rooms have a privileged view to the city, main, church, Llanquihue Lake and Osorno and Calbuco Volcanoes. 07 Suites Rooms and 79 junior Suites Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Solace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solace Hotel Puerto Varas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing