We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been happier with my choice of Canales del Sur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canales del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canales del Sur
Ranked #26 of 38 Puerto Varas B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could not have been happier with my choice of Canales del Sur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Funny how the first ten minutes upon arrival typically says it all! Despite having a late 10:00 PM arrival Juan and Flor, who had a small gathering of friends over for a pre-Christmas gathering, not only checked me in for my 5 night stay but insisted that I join them in the festivities. Despite not typically being comfortable in such situations, I must say that I comfortably felt as though I was part of the family in 10 minutes and continued with group till evening's end!

My room was in a quiet seperate bungalow which itself is comprised of two large rooms seperated by a small bright sitting area. Bathroom was 10 / 10 with plenty of hot water and bright as can be. King size bed 10 / 10 with plenty of pillows. Room was spotless 10 / 10 and daily service was thorough. The every large window in the room faced out across the patio and lovely garden. Beautiful grounds as well.

Other rooms as found in the main house were bright, modern, and had great views over Lake Llanquihue. The large, bright, open concept living room (with computer workstation) had natural stone and wood decor which seemed very reflective of the northern Patagonia landscape.

Breakfast were great and Flor, a dynamo and a lovely person, was always there to make sure guests started the day off well and all needs met. Juan was a wealth of knowledge in terms of local and regional adventures, outings, and restaurants.

As for location, it is about 2km from downtown core but the walk is great as one follows the beach all the way there. The view in the area is - as I was told and can certainly attest to - life changing. Volcanos, cristal blue skies, lake, wow.

After having spent 3 weeks in Argentina and Chile in multiple B&Bs, I have to say that my stay at Canales del Sur was a slendid way to end my trip. Highly recommended for the property, location, and especially the people. If I can find a way to get back to Puerto Varas, or Southern Chile for that matter, I will definately stay again.

Cheers

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
38
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Good if you are looking for the basic. Warm-hearted hosts, very clean, comfortable beds, good bathroom, basic but nice breakfast. However, I found the room rather small and it was as well as the hotel very cold. It was a very cold summer and the hosts kept the heater off. I also didn't like the owner's advice for activities. The hostel is far from the downtown. I would recommend it if you are on a small budget or a backpacker, what I am not. There is a very good restaurant nearby - La Olla. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We didn't have long in Puerto Varas but we were able to make the most of it due to the helpful advice and practical assistance (help with hire car, booking onward travel etc). The restaurant recommendations were also first class. The location is a little way out of town but that was not a problem at all due to the hire car and the number of restaurants nearby. Beautiful views, free run of the living rooms and reading rooms, fresh breakfast and very cute bedroom. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

We arrived at this charming guesthouse quite late and in a gale but Juan Antonio came out to greet us with a cheery smile and gave us a very warm jovial welcome. He said to treat them like family so we knew we were off to a good start. The room we stayed in was not in the main house and it was a double ensuite with a small kitchenette between us and another room. The decor was a real surprise as it was simple uncluttered and yet still homely a hard balance to get right. It was also spotlessly clean. We awoke the next morning and went to the main house for our breakfast to be greeted by Flor who we instantly warmed to with her hospitality and good English (they both speak excellent English). Within minutes of discussing our plans with her she helped us to hire a car at a really good rate and then we were independent which was great due to the distance from the town. One of the benefits of their location is however, that they have lots of restaurants within a few minutes walk which is perfect for dinner and a short walk home.
There are also really comfy sofas to sink into in the main house which makes a change after travelling for several months. Juan Antonio spent at least 3 hours helping us to plan our onward trip into patagonia and gave us some of his expertise in air travel and made the whole process a joy to work out and he even threw in a glass of wine. Flor provides an excellent laundry service too. We recommend Canales del sur to people who like comfort but don't want to break the bank. - we even stayed an extra night with no problem for availability. We would recommend the bar that is located left out of their driveway and opposite the deli for simple platters of deliciousness and a great atmosphere if you prefer something lower key than a restaurant. All in all a very comfortable place to stay that i'm sure you will want to go back to. You will not find warmer hosts. Also when we were leaving Flor told us of plans for a hot tub and massage room perfect if you are doing lots of hiking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanRajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Though our room was pretty small, it was clean and comfortable. In this region, it's also important to be warm! We had our own bathroom and cable TV. One downside is that the internet was down the entire time we were there (3 nights). They are also located 3 km from the center of Puerto Varas so we figured out how to jump on a bus to the Plaza for about 600 pesos for two of us. We also really enjoyed interacting with the other travelers over breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEasyMadeMeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Hospedaji del Sur was a delight. The hosts could not do more to make you feel welcome and provide you with spotless rooms and bathrooms with PLENTY of hot water! Breakfasts are excellent. They will help you to see the best of the area and will arrange trips for you. Why other travellers do not like Puerto Varas, I have no idea as we found it a charming little town with pleasant people and some excellent restaurants. There is plenty to do in the area.

Flor and Juan Canales will also pick you up from the airport at Puerto Montt and take you back, along with a quick tour of Puerto Montt if you have not had time to visit it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Canales del Sur in February 2009. I have to say this is one beautiful place. The house is spotless, with a beautiful view to the lake, great gardens all around the house. The owners, Flor and Juan Antonio were great and warm hosts, always willing to help, answer questions, suggest best places to go. They know the area very well and speak very good English. Our room had a great view to the lake and the gardens, with private bathroom, tastefully decorated as the rest of the house. The house is 5 minute walk from a great seafood restaurant called “La Olla”. Excellent food at great prices. You can’t leave Puerto Varas without trying this place, and so close to Flor and Juan Antonio’s place. Look no more for a place to stay. You won’t be disappointed. I will recommend this place in a heart beat to anyone looking to spend sometime in Puerto Varas: If you are looking for hospitality, super clean and tastefully decorated rooms, great service, hosts that go out of their way to help you and make you fell like at home, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel El Greco
Hotel El Greco
#18 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.5 mi away
Puerto Chico Hotel
Puerto Chico Hotel
#13 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Puerto Varas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#16 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel
#20 of 28 in Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tradicion Austral Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canales del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canales del Sur

Property: Canales del Sur
Address: Av Vicente Perez Rosales 1631-A, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canales del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We open our doors and invite you to join us in our traditional German house, located in the Heart of the southern Chilean tourist circuit and capital of the Andean Lake District: Puerto Varas. Canales del Sur sits on the “Lago Llanquihue” shoreline, close to the best restaurants in town, in an overwhelming environment that will allow you to relax and forget all your worries. Fully restored and conditioned to welcome you with the facilities and comfort you deserve, our house has only no shared bedrooms (singles and doubles)with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Canales del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing