We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place, loved the decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Tren del Sur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really nice place, loved the decor”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was a great find in Puerto Montt, a really interestingly decorated place with cosy rooms, that had cable tv and good wifi. I was only here for one night ahead of getting the Navimag ferry. I didn´t get the amazing service that other reviewers have mentioned, the staff were a bit annonymous and no-one gave me any local info or a map like previous reviewers have said, but it didn´t matter as I didn´t need any info for my brief stay anyway. Unlike some other reviewers, I thought the breakfast was fine, I was happy with the self service cereal, yoghurt, fruit and toast after weeks of only being given bread and jam for breakfast in other places in Chile and Argentina! And it was the same price as the place I´d stayed in Puerto Varas that wasn´t nearly as nicely done inside, so I thought the price was fine.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennettSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
23
40
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

As the other reviewers mentioned, the owner of Tren del Sur is awesome. He sat us down when we got there, got us some welcome drinks and just talked for a long time. The staff gave us a map and showed us how to get around town. We were only staying for 1 night and leaving early in the morning, so the owner had his staff prepare us a morning snack so we had something before getting to the airport. This was a very appreciated step.

The rooms were okay, but not considering the price we paid. We paid only because it was one night. They advertised wifi everywhere in the hotel but it just didn't work on the bottom floor.

The bathroom was a little dated, but clean. There was free parking which was also nice.

But for a 'budget' b and b, we stayed in better places for a better rate throughout our trip in Chile.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We spent two nights in Puerto Montt before boarding the Navimag ship to Puerto Natales.

Before I comment on the hostel, let me say something about Puerto Montt. Don't stay there unless you really really have to. Its too big, too loud, too dirty and there is absolutely nothing to see or do, nor will you find a good restaurant. If you want to visit
Chiloe or you are waiting (like we were) to board the Navimag ship, we highly recommend staying at Puerto Varas instead (its a close bus/cab ride from Puerto Montt).

Tren del Sur is a nice hostel with a very helpful owner and a special decorative twist (cool lobby), yet it is too expensive for what it offers (especially given the fact that its located in the unpretentious town of Puerto Montt). While the lobby is great and very boutique-style decorated, the rooms are too plain and dont have windows. Moreoever, the breakfast is very spare with very little options.

What we liked:
- great owner (Mario). Mario will do everything to help you out, organise trips and give you recommendations on where to do your laundry, exchange money etc. He's a true host

- ok location. on the positive side its a safe neighbourhood in reasonable distance from the city center. on the negative side, you dont have the ocean view (which would be the obvious choice in Puerto Montt)

What we didnt like :
- value for money is not right here. beyond the stylish lobby, there is nothing too special about the hostel. rooms are plain and dont have windows and breakfast is very plain and the self-service comes across a bit careless. in addition, this is not touristy pucon, but unpretentious puerto montt - so prices shouldnt be that high.

- breakfast. breakfast is plain with very little options beyond toast and corn flakes and the self service has the character of carelessness (cornflakes in the plastic bag, jam and butter are covered with cellophane).

Overall, nice place with a great owner, a true host, but its too expensive for what it offers; especially the rooms and the breakfast dont correspond with the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stumbled across this charming little B&B while spending a night in Puerto Montt. The owner, Mario, was very welcoming and extremely helpful. He is also very artistic, and you will see it in the way that he has cleverly decorated his place with old train tracks, railroad ties, history books, etc.

Mario will go out of his way to provide any help that he can. He helped us solve an issue with LAN airlines, helped us arrange for an affordable car service to the airport, and gave us some great recommendations for things to do around Puerto Montt.

I highly recommend this place if you are staying in PM.

  • Liked — decor and the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank funkstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Montt hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
#2 of 22 in Puerto Montt
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seminario
Hotel Seminario
#6 of 22 in Puerto Montt
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diego de Almagro Puerto Montt
Diego de Almagro Puerto Montt
#7 of 22 in Puerto Montt
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
#3 of 22 in Puerto Montt
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Departamentos del Sur
Hotel Departamentos del Sur
#28 of 64 in Puerto Montt
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tren del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tren del Sur

Property: Hostal Tren del Sur
Address: Santa Teresa 643 | estacionamiento por calle San Pablo N° 670, Puerto Montt 5505306, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Tren del Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Tren del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tren Del Sur Hotel Puerto Montt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing