We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here for 3 weeks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Durban
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 3 weeks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed at the Don Vicente for 3 weeks on business back in Jan 09. The room wasn't large but the view of the bay was excellent, seeing different cruise ships coming and going and locals picking clams when the tide was out. The lounge is nice with excellent staff, great rum and decent food. One of the best parts of staying here was the buffet breakfast every morning (included). It's the only place I've stayed in Puerto Montt but I would recommend it to travellers. There's an interesting park across the street and the mall is within walking distance. It was their summer holiday while I was there and most days had activities going on in the courtyards nearby. To me this is not a tourist area but I sure enjoyed the town and the people were great. Can't wait to go back to Chile!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    32
    19
    10
See reviews for
15
47
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night, in December 2011.
We weren't overly impressed by it at all. Firstly, we waited at the reception desk for 10 minutes to be checked in, with no-one in sight except a chef and waitress who carried on their coversation, ignoring us. It would have been nice if they'd let someone know that there were guests waiting to be checked in at reception. Maybe their conversation was important, who knows.....?

They gave us a two single beds, instead of a double bed, but by that stage, we were too tired to care, and we thought that for one night it wasn't worth complaining about. The room was a little cold, and the heating was off. There was no hot water. We were told that we needed to run it for at least three minutes for the heat to start coming through. This proved to be more like 6 minutes (I felt horrible wasting water, but I was desparate for a shower!) and even then it was barely warm. The shower was mouldy, yuk!
The TV remote didn't work. The paint in the hallway was peeling off due to the mould under it, over all I didn't enjoy my stay here, and was glad to be leaving it.

On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_and_Sia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Montt hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed one week in this hotel. As said by other reviewers, it has the charm of old times. Nice rooms with view on the bay. Quiet and clean. Good breakfast. At $100/night, it's not the best value in Puerto Montt, although the ubication and style may compense.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pchi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

This hotel has seen better days. Is now looking a bit worn. Room dowdy and very poorly lit. The place is not awful and is Ok for one or two nights but it badly needs a makeover. Service was fairly good as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berwicklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

Stayed here for one night after a missed flight connection. We were sold a deluxe room overlooking the bay, which definitely needed an update. It was large and the view of the waterfront below was pleasant. We ate in the restaurant, which was satisfactory and breakfast in the morning was a substantial buffet. The bar was a fun place to be on a Friday evening but we eventually had to move out owing to so many smokers.
We walked to the nearby Holiday Inn Express and wished that we had stayed there. It was cheaper and much more modern.
For $150 per night I do not think that the Hotel Don Vicente was very good value. Good location, however.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Old fashioned room. Price.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
271 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed in the Don Vicente for one night. The hotel was packed due to a concert on the lake front. The stars of the concert were staying in the hotel. There were people waiting outside the doors all day for a glimpse of the stars. While it was crowded, it was also an exciting time to be in the hotel. Our room was large and faced the town square. It was clean but could have used a new rug and some upgrading. The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the sights and to the mall. The breakfast was a buffet and was very good. The staff were minimally helpful - probably because the hotel was so busy. An older hotel that has kept is charm, but does need some upgrading. We enjoyed our complimentary Pisco sour in the bar watching the locals swooning over the "stars".

For a short stay this hotel was fine for us. It was exciting to be there when the Chileans were so thrilled at having so many of their "stars" in the city center.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the need for some upgrading and updating
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geisenheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

We arrived on December 31 for one night. Next day in the morning we had to get our air plane early in the morning. At 8 pm the restaurant was closed do to the preparation of a New Year's Eve dinner (50 US$ per Person). We ask were we could get a snack. At the reception we have been told that the bar is open until 9 pm. At the bar the waitress tried to ignore us, but after waiting for 20 minutes we could order something to eat. At 8.45 pm we tried to get another drink (coffee) but this was impossible. On of the hotel managers told us we could join the dinner instead. Great! I told him twice that we did not want to book his overpriced dinner but he pretended not to speak English (which is just great for a four star hotel)
The room was more or less acceptable but the towels were rather smelly.
The New year's eve party ended at 5 a.m. The music in our room (obviously directly on top of the band) was so loud that we could not sleep even by using earplugs. How could they sell a room where you cannot sleep?
Our experience with this hotel was terrible. We were not treated as hotel guests as you would expect at an four star hotel. Absolutely not to recommend!

  • Liked — Sorry, nothing
  • Disliked — They did not care for their hotel guests
  • Tips/Secrets — just choose another hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Montt hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Luis
Hotel Don Luis
#5 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
Presidente Suite Puerto Montt
#3 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
Hotel Manquehue Puerto Montt
#2 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seminario
Hotel Seminario
#6 of 22 in Puerto Montt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Colon
Apart Hotel Colon
#10 of 22 in Puerto Montt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera

Property: Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera
Address: Diego Portales 450, Puerto Montt 5505080, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Vicente Costanera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puerto Montt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing